It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You don't have to visit the Wilson Music Library to browse our shelves! The Library Catalog supports virtual browsing. Once you find a score that you're interested in, scroll to the bottom of the catalog record to see other scores shelved in the same row.
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for tuba music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
M95-M99, Tuba alone
M264-M265, Tuba and piano
M357.2, Brass trios
M557.4, Brass quintets
M1034, Tuba with orchestra (full score)
M1035, Tuba with orchestra (piano reduction)
M1105, Tuba with string orchestra (full score)
M1106, Tuba with string orchestra (piano reduction)
M1366, Jazz ensembles
With warmth and humor, tuba virtuoso Harvey Phillips tells the story of his amazing life and career from his Missouri childhood through his days as a performer with the King Brothers and the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey circuses, his training at the Juilliard School, a stint with the US Army Field Band, and his freelance days with the New York City Opera and Ballet. A founder of the New York Brass Quintet, Phillips served as vice president of the New England Conservatory of Music and became Distinguished Professor of Music at Indiana University. The creator of an industry of TubaChristmases, Octubafests, and TubaSantas, he crusaded for recognition of the tuba as a serious musical instrument, commissioning more than 200 works. Enhanced by an extensive gallery of photographs, Mr. Tuba conveys Phillips's playful zest for life while documenting his important musical legacy.
The Tennessee Tech Tuba Ensemble (TTTE) is one of the most successful performing collegiate ensembles in history, with an enviable record of 25 recording projects, seven Carnegie Hall appearances, two World's Fairs performances, numerous national and international conference engagements, and a performance history in venues like Preservation Hall in New Orleans, the Spoleto Festival in Charleston, and the Kennedy Center in Washington. The Tennessee Tech Tuba Ensemble and R. Winston Morris: A 40th Anniversary Retrospective lists all of these events and more. It tells how Morris founded an ensemble comprised only of tubas and euphoniums (the "underdogs" of the orchestra) and catapulted it to international recognition, establishing and defining the standards for tuba ensemble performance practices and creating a monumental influence on both the tuba and music education throughout the world. The book provides a biography of Morris that includes the influences that led to the development of the TTTE, and it describes the early years of the ensemble and its development as one of the most recognizable groups of its kind. Several lists of reference information specific to Morris and the group--and general to tuba and euphonium music--are offered.
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire is the most definitive publication on the status of the euphonium in the history of this often misunderstood and frequently under-appreciated instrument. This volume documents the rich history, the wealth of repertoire, and the incredible discography of the euphonium. Music educators, composers/arrangers, instrument historians, performers on other instruments, and students of the euphonium (baritone horn, tenor tuba, etc.) will find the exhaustive research evident in this volume's pages to be compelling and comprehensive. Contributors are Lloyd Bone, Brian L. Bowman, Neal Corwell, Adam Frey, Marc Dickman, Bryce Edwards, Seth D. Fletcher, Carroll Gotcher, Atticus Hensley, Lisa M. Hocking, Sharon Huff, Kenneth R. Kroesche, R. Winston Morris, John Mueller, Michael B. O'Connor, Eric Paull, Joseph Skillen, Kelly Thomas, Demondrae Thurman, Matthew J. Tropman, and Mark J. Walker.
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835. Contributors are Ron Davis, Jeffrey Funderburk, David Graves, Skip Gray, Charles A. McAdams, R. Winston Morris, Mark A. Nelson, Timothy J. Northcut, Daniel Perantoni, Philip Sinder, Joseph Skillen, Kenyon Wilson, and Jerry A. Young.
Program Notes for the Solo Tuba
"This is a valuable reference tool for any serious tuba scholar." --TUBA Journal Reviews "... an excellent resource... " --American Music Teacher Program notes, written by the composers themselves, describe 88 works for the solo tuba. Includes works for the tuba alone, tuba and piano, and tuba with other types of accompaniment. Each entry gives complete publication data, a history of the piece, its instrumentation and movements, and a description of its musical structure and characteristics. Gary Bird provides an invaluable resource for students, teachers, and professional performers in building repertoire and in gaining insight into a vital body of contemporary music.
To facilitate remote teaching and learning in music, the Wilson Music Library has licensed Classical Scores Library, an online database of Western art music scores featuring works from the Middle Ages through the 21st century. Currently numbering 53,000 individual works, Classical Scores Library features editions from a variety of publishers, including Universal, Faber, Boosey & Hawkes, Peters, and A-R. Classical Scores Library has a mobile-friendly interface, making it easy to work with scores on tablets.
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog:
The Library Catalog finds print and electronic items, including books, scores, CDs/DVDs, journal and newspaper articles, reviews, and much more. This search includes content from numerous sources, such as open-access repositories, and many, though not all, individual databases to which Vanderbilt subscribes.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.