Research Guides: Performer Guides: Getting Started: Resources for All

If you need help, email me!

Kate Linton

Email Me

Contact:

Wilson Music Library Office #2134B

(615) 343-1852

I need help with...

Program or lecture recital notes and research
Building a recital program: search strategies and resources
Establishing historical context around my music
Pedagogy resources for teaching
Locating contemporary music for my instrument
The Blair Performance Archive
Using journals in my discipline
Searching in a specific database
Finding wellness and performance resources

Using this Guide:

This research guide is designed to help music majors, minors, and Blair Academy students find information related to their individual area of study. The guide is organized primarily by instrument families (example: pages for bassoon, clarinet, flute, oboe, and saxophone appear under woodwinds); voice has a sub-page featuring resources for diction, texts, and translations. Use this guide to find:

Call number ranges for browsing for repertoire
Journals specific to discipline
Recommended books
Recommended pedagogy, exercises, etudes, and excerpt materials
Musician wellness resources

If you need help locating sources, repertoire, or answering a performance or research question, email Kate Linton the Music Librarian for Instruction and Outreach.

Digital Scores

Henle Campus Edition This link opens in a new window
Digital catalog of music scores in an app available on iPad and Android tablets.
• Users need to register for an account at https://www.henle-library.com/en/campus-edition
• After registering, download the Henle Library app on your iPad or tablet (note: the app is not available for phones).
• Users must revalidate their account every 3 months to maintain access. If an account is not revalidated, all data associated with that account will be lost.
nkoda This link opens in a new window
Sheet music subscription service that can be accessed via app on your phone, tablet or desktop. To get started, download the app on the preferred device(s) and follow the nkoda sign in instructions.
Vendor Tutorial: https://www.nkoda.com/help/using-nkoda
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
Full, study, piano, and vocal scores encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.

Digital Scores Library
The Digital Scores Library collection is comprised of those digital-only scores directly owned by the Vanderbilt Libraries. Permissions may vary, but many can also be downloaded and/or printed.

Recent Researches in Music Online This link opens in a new window
Contains scores and partbooks published in Recent Researches in Music series for Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA) and Oral Traditions.

Streaming Audio and Video

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio service of the complete recording catalogs of the Naxos label and numerous other labels. The main genres covered are classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music.
Access Note: Please remember to "log out" once you are done (use red log out button). Closing your browser window does not log you out of the system, and could prevent another user from accessing Naxos.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Virtual concert venue: live streams, concert archive, movies, and interviews.
To create an account, click Login and Register Now. Confirmation email will be received.
Blair Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio database containing recordings of Blair performances with their corresponding programs, masterclasses, and lectures held in the Wilson Music Library archives.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Classical music channel offering broadcasts of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.

For access to more streaming audio and video services, visit this Music Library page, https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/music/finding-music-resources/streaming/

Call Number System Breakdown

The Music Library uses the Library of Congress Call Number System to organize and locate scores and books on the music library book shelves. The call number is a combination of letters and numbers. It can be found on the spine or the front cover of the score or book and acts as an address to the material. In music, we have three specific sections indicated by the first letter(s).

M = notated music or scores
ML = literature on music
MT = instruction and teaching resources (method books, etudes, pedagogy, etc.)

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2024 9:29 PM
URL: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/performer_guides
Print Page

Subjects: Music

Tags: brass, guitar, harp, piano, plucked strings, singing, strings, woodwinds

VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.