It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To facilitate remote teaching and learning in music, the Wilson Music Library has licensed Classical Scores Library, an online database of Western art music scores featuring works from the Middle Ages through the 21st century. Currently numbering 53,000 individual works, Classical Scores Library features editions from a variety of publishers, including Universal, Faber, Boosey & Hawkes, Peters, and A-R. Classical Scores Library has a mobile-friendly interface, making it easy to work with scores on tablets.
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for harp music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
M115-119, Harp alone
M272-M273, Harp and piano
M292-M293, Duets, two plectral instruments
M294-M295, Duets, with one string instrument
M296-M297, Duets, with one wind instrument
M1036, Harp with orchestra (full score)
M1037, Harp with orchestra (piano reduction)
M1136, Harp with string orchestra (full score)
M1137, Harp with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Bibliographies compile lists of materials by topic. The Music Library owns several bibliographies related to harp music. These volumes can help you to find repertoire by composer, difficulty level, etc.
Harp Music Bibliography: Chamber Music and Concertos by Mark Palkovic
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .H3 P33 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Harp Music Bibliography: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble by Mark Palkovic
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .H3 P35 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Harp Music Bibliography Supplement: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble by Mark Palkovic
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .H3 P35 2002 Suppl.
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Books on the Harp:
In addition to the titles listed below, you can browse for books about the harp in the following call number ranges:
ML419, biographies of instrumentalists
ML1005-ML1008, harp - general, history and construction, music and playing
Pentacle: the Story of Carlos Salzedo and the Harp by Marietta Bitter
Call Number: ML419 .S186 B5 2010
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Harps and Harpists by Roslyn Rensch
Call Number: ML1005 .R43 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-12
Harp Music in the Nineteenth Century by Hans Joachim Zingel; Mark Palkovic (Editor, Translator)
The Library Catalog finds print and electronic items, including books, scores, CDs/DVDs, journal and newspaper articles, reviews, and much more. This search includes content from numerous sources, such as open-access repositories, and many, though not all, individual databases to which Vanderbilt subscribes.
Etudes and instructional materials are classified in the MT range and housed in the same location as books about music (MLs):
MT540 - General Works:
Example: Yolanda Kondonassis, On Playing the Harp (New York: Carl Fischer, 2003), call no. MT540 .K65 2003.
MT542 - Systems and Methods:
Example: Carlos Salzedo, Modern Study of the Harp (New York: G. Schirmer, 1948), call no. MT542 .S262.
MT545 - Studies and Exercises:
Example: Marcel Grandjany, Four Etudes (New York: Lyra Music, 1981), call no. MT545 .G73.
MT546 - Orchestral Studies:
Example: Giacomo Puccini, Puccini Operas: Orchestral Studies for the Harp ([New York]: Lyra Music, ), call no. MT546 .P961 O6.
Online Resources for Harp:
The American Harp Society - The organization for harp students, teachers, researchers, and enthusiasts, the American Harp Society publishes the American Harp Journal and sponsors national conferences and competitions.
International Harp Archives - Housed in the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University, the International Harp Archives contains the archives of the American Harp Society, the World Harp Congress, and the personal collections of many harpists.
World Harp Congress - Founded in 1981, the World Harp Congress is an international organization devoted to promoting the harp. The organization hosts an international congress every three years and publishes the World Harp Congress Review biannually.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.