Email Kate Linton the Music Librarian for Instruction and Outreach for research assistance and searching strategies.
Vanderbilt Student Care Network
Visit Vanderbilt's Student Care Network website for more information and resources related to several wellness categories. Get connected to resources and programming on campus.
Along your music journey, you may experience challenges or want to develop other practices and routines for performance, wellness, and teaching. The Heath and Wellness guide is an overview of library resources and information available to you as a student. The Wilson Music Library collects information and prioritizes materials related to musician wellness and performance. The bookshelf contains selected titles using the subject headings above for mindfulness, injury prevention, performance anxiety, peak performance, success, and more.
Recommended Reading
Search by Subject Heading
Searching by subject headings versus a keyword search gathers resources that are tagged under a particular subject or topic. Using the advanced search function, select subject and contains exact phrase from the drop down menus. Then, type in the subject heading of your choice.
LOC subject headings:
- Performance anxiety
- Stage fright
- Mindfulness (Psychology)
- Music -- performance -- psychological aspects
- Musicians -- health and hygiene
- Musicians -- mental health
- Musicians -- wounds and injuries
- Overuse injuries -- prevention
- Performance -- psychological aspects
- Practicing (Music)
- Success -- psychological aspects
Other keywords and subject headings can be explored in your search like Motivation, Awareness, Imagery, Confidence.
Call numbers for resources may vary because of the multi-disciplinary nature of the subject. The Music Library holds interdisciplinary materials in the stacks NUMBERS. You may find other books online or at other libraries on campus including Central Library.
Journals and Databases
Looking for articles? Search for articles using the library catalog or search within specific journal publications such as:
You can develop keywords and phrases from a research question to input into a database or the library catalog search engine for searching and locating information. If you want to focus on your specific instrument, visit the performer guide related to your area and search recommended journals within your discipline for musician wellness and performance related topics.
-
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Check out the Library Search which finds print and electronic items, including journal and newspaper articles, book chapters, books, reviews, legal documents, and much more. Note: Due to licensing restrictions, some content is only available to current students, faculty, and staff.
-
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for music periodicals; includes including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycINFO is a comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature. Journals, articles, books, dissertations, etc. Subjects include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, treatment and prevention.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Blogs
-
Bulletproof Musician Blog
Blog and website of Julliard faculty performance psychologist, Noa Kageyama. Topics include confidence, anxiety, practice, and more. Explore an integrative approach to performance psychology for musicians stemming from sports psychology.
-
Dr. Michelle Global Performance Anxiety
Blog and website by Dr. Michelle who helps athletes and musicians with credientials in clincal and sports psychology. The blog posts are free to access and cover topics for musicians, focus, motivation, and more.
