Need help? Email me!
Email Kate Linton the Music Librarian for Instruction and Outreach for research assistance and searching strategies.
I need help with...
- Program or lecture recital notes and research
- Building a recital program: search strategies and resources
- Establishing historical context around my music
- Pedagogy resources for teaching
- Locating contemporary music for my instrument
- The Blair Performance Archive
- Using journals in my discipline
- Searching in a specific database
- Finding wellness and performance resources
Finding Chamber Music Repertoire:
You can browse for brass chamber music by using these call number ranges:
M357.2 - Brass trios
M557.4 - Brass quintets
Bibliographies
Bibliographies list sources of information on a subject and can be useful when discovering new repertoire or programming repertoire. Use the bibliographies listed below to locate scores, audio, pedagogy sources, and literature.
- Find a source using the bibliography
- Go to the library catalog, https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/music/
- Search for the source using the title, author, etc.
- Retrieve the source from the stacks
If the library doesn't own the source, visit the interlibrary loan page to request it from another library
Brass Music of Black Composers by Call Number: E-book, Online Access
Brass Bibliography by Call Number: ML128.W5 F3 1990Sources on the history, literature, pedagogy, performance, and acoustics of brass instruments
Brass Journals
The Wilson Music Library subscribes to a number of music journals, including those published by the major professional organizations for various instruments. Reading journals in your area of study is part of being a professional musician - you can learn about major performers and repertoire, new works, festivals, scholarships, and more. Some of these journals are issued only in print (current issues can be found on the browsing periodicals shelving near the book stacks), but many are available online.
ITA Journal
ITA Journal or International Trombone Association Journal is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles, trombone news, and literature and record reviews.
ITG Journal
ITG Journal is the official publication of the International Trumpet Guild and is published quarterly. It includes scholarly articles on history, performance, and pedagogy, interviews, and reviews of literature and recordings.
Horn Call
The Horn Call: Journal of the American Horn Society includes articles, columns, and reviews.
American Music Teacher
The American Music Teacher Journal is a refereed journal that provides articles, reviews, and columns for music teachers to educate, encourage excellence, and inform.
