Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performer Guides: Flute

Use this guide to find resources for music performance, including LC call number browsing ranges for repertoire, books, and journals..

NEW: Classical Scores Library

Finding Repertoire:

If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for flute music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:

M60-M64, Flute alone
M240-M244, Flute and piano
M557, Woodwind quintets
M557.2, Flute quintets
M1020, Flute with orchestra (full score)
M1021, Flute with orchestra (piano reduction)
M1120, Flute with string orchestra (full score)
M1121, Flute with string orchestra (piano reduction)

Music Bibliographies for Flute:

Bibliographies compile lists of materials by topic. The Music Library owns several bibliographies of flute music that can help you to find repertoire by composer, difficulty level, etc.

Books on the Flute and Flutists:

In addition to the titles listed below, you can browse for books about the flute in the following call number ranges:

ML 419 - biographies of instrumentalists
ML 935-ML 937, flute - general, history and construction, music and playing

Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog:

Excerpts, Etudes, and Method Books:

Excerpts and instructional materials are classified in the MT range and housed in the same location as books about music (MLs):

MT340, General works

  • Example: Michel Debost, The Simple Flute: From A to Z (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002), call no. MT340 .D4313 2002.

MT342, Systems and methods

  • Example: Sheryl Cohen, Bel Canto Flute: The Rampal School (Cedar Falls, IA: Winzer Press, 2003), call no. MT342 .C64 B4 1997.

​MT345, Studies and exercises

  • Example: Joachim Andersen, Twenty-Four Etudes for the Flute, in all the Major and Minor Keys, op. 15 (New York: C. Fischer, [1940]), call no. MT345 .A53 op.15.

MT346, Orchestral studies (excerpts)

  • Example: Great Duos from the Orchestral Repertoire: Excerpts for Principal, Second, and Alto Flute Auditions (King of Prussia, PA: T. Presser, 2002), call no. MT346 .G74 2002.

Online Resources for Flute:

The National Flute Association - The largest flute organization in the world.

National Flute Association Music Library - Located in the University of Arizona's Fine Arts Library, the NFA's Music Library boasts a collection of approximately 15,000 scores.  The collection contains many rare and out-of-print editions, many of which were donated from the personal collections of flutists.  You can search the library's catalog online.  Members of the National Flute Association residing in the U.S. or Canada may borrow scores from this library - see the web site for details.

The Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection at the Library of Congress - Containing more than 1,700 items, the Miller Collection is an outstanding selection of Western and non-Western flutes, books, music, trade catalogs, and other items related to the flute.  Items in the collection date from the 16th through the 20th centuries.  Images of more than 1,500 instruments have been made available in this online presentation as part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project.