Performer Guides: Trombone

History of the Trombone

A History of the Trombone, the first title in the new series American Wind Band, is a comprehensive account of the development of the trombone from its initial form as a 14th-century Medieval trumpet to its alterations in the 15th century; from its marginalized use in a particular Renaissance ensemble to its acceptance in various kinds of artistic and popular music in the 19th and 20th centuries. David M. Guion accesses new and important primary source materials to present the full sweep of the instrument's history, placing particular emphasis on the people who played the instrument, the music they performed, and the relevant cultural contexts. After a general overview, the material is presented in two main sections: the first traces the development of the trombone itself and examines the literature written about it, and the second investigates the history of performance on the instrument--the ensembles it participated in, the occasions in which it took part, the people who played it, and the social, intellectual, political, economic, and technological forces that impinged on that history.

The Trombone

The trombone has frequently been relegated to the status of footnotes and afterthoughts in much of the research on brass instruments. This book is designed to feature the trombone, its history, music, performers, performance practices (including jazz performance), instruments and equipment, and pedagogical topics that are of concern to those who teach the instrument. The book may be used by trombonists and the broader research community who are interested in finding material both common and arcane about the trombone. The information may be perused at three levels: browsing through the broad classifications of each chapter; checking for cross-listings in the annotations; and using the index which is keyed to the author, subject, and keyword line at the end of each annotation. The book also includes four appendixes: the first identifies relevant periodicals and journals; the second lists obituaries of trombonists not included in biographical citations; the third lists presidents of the International Trombone Association; the fourth lists recipients of the ITA Award.

The Trombone

This is the first comprehensive study of the trombone in English. It covers the instrument, its repertoire, the way it has been played, and the social, cultural, and aesthetic contexts within which it has developed. The book explores the origins of the instrument, its invention in the fifteenth century, and its story up to modern times, also revealing hidden aspects of the trombone in different eras and countries. The book looks not only at the trombone within classical music but also at its place in jazz, popular music, popular religion, and light music. Trevor Herbert examines each century of the trombone’s development and details the fundamental impact of jazz on the modern trombone. By the late twentieth century, he shows, jazz techniques had filtered into the performance idioms of almost all styles of music and transformed ideas about virtuosity and lyricism in trombone playing.

Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists

Musical performance on brass instruments has blossomed in the 20th century because of technical improvements in horn making, a vastly increased literature, and an astonishing number of outstanding players. Louis Armstrong, Tommy Dorsey, and Doc Severinsen have become household names, and classical musicians such as Maurice Andre, Christian Lindberg, and Barry Tuckwell have pursued distinguished careers as soloists. "Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists" analyzes and celebrates nearly one hundred brass soloists who have performed and been recorded widely, and whose genius, technique, and style have combined to produce unforgettable moments in music.

Jazz 'Bones: The World of Jazz Trombone

Jazz 'Bones features an extremely well-researched collection of anecdotes and stories that traces the history of jazz trombone from its early inception to the present. A special feature is the inclusion of many lesser-known though incredibly gifted players.

Hit Me, Fred: Recollections of a Sideman

With Hit Me, Fred, sensational sideman Fred Wesley Jr. moves front and center to tell his life story. A legendary funk, soul, and jazz musician, Wesley is best known for his work in the late sixties and early seventies with James Brown and as the leader of Brown's band, Fred Wesley and the JB's. Having been the band's music director, arranger, trombone player, and frequent composer, Wesley is one of the original architects of funk music. He describes what it was like working for the Godfather of Soul, revealing the struggle and sometimes stringent discipline behind Brown's tight, raucous tunes. After leaving Brown and the JB's, Wesley arranged the horn sections for Parliament, Funkadelic, and Bootsy's Rubber Band, and led Fred Wesley and the Horny Horns. Adding his signature horn arrangements to the P-Funk mix, Wesley made funk music even funkier. Wesley's distinctive sound reverberates through rap and hip-hop music today. In Hit Me, Fred, he recalls the many musicians whose influence he absorbed, beginning with his grandmother and father--both music teachers--and including mentors in his southern Alabama hometown and members of the Army band.

French Music for Low Brass Instruments

Contains annotated listings of French literature for tenor trombone, bass trombone, tuba, and bass saxhorn, as well as repertoire suitable for the modern euphonium. Intended for teachers and students, this book also provides separate listings of pedagogical materials for each of these four instruments.

Brass Bibliography

Subtitle: sources on the history, literature, pedagogy, performance, and acoustics of brass instruments.

An Illustrated Dictionary for the Modern Trombone, Tuba, and Euphonium Player

Modern low brass instruments--trombone, tuba, and euphonium--have legions of ancestors, cousins, and descendants in over five-hundred years of history. Prominent scholar and performer Douglas Yeo provides a unique, accessible reference guide that addresses a broad range of relevant topics and brings these instruments to life with clear explanations and the most up-to-date research. Brief biographies of many path-changing individuals highlight their influence on instrument development and use. The book's inclusive scope also recognizes the work of diverse, influential artists whose important contributions to trombone and tuba history and development have not previously been acknowledged in other literature. Extensive illustrations by Lennie Peterson provide insight into many of the entries.

Teaching Low Brass

The purpose of this textbook is to provide resourses about teaching low brass instruments to music educators and future music educators. The book was developed by Steven Maxwell as part of the open/alternative textbook initiative at Kansas State University. It Is the textbook used for the Kansas State University course Music 239-Low Brass Techniques and Materials. The textbook focuses on two areas: basic information including pedagogical material for teaching low brass students and low brass etudes. The information is divided into several categories including brass history, the overtone series, general intonation tendencies, embouchure, instruments and equipment, literature, maintenance, vibrato, and low brass in the marching band. Pedagogical material is interspersed throughout each of the chapters. Etudes are incorporated in the appendix of the textbook. These etudes are intended to be used in a laboratory setting with future music educators learning each low brass instrument for the first time. Instrument fingerings, slide positions, and simple warm-up material is also available in the appendix.

Creole Trombone: Kid Ory and the Early Years of Jazz

Edward "Kid" Ory (1886-1973) was a trombonist, composer, recording artist, and early New Orleans jazz band leader. Creole Trombone tells his story from birth on a rural sugar cane plantation in a French-speaking, ethnically mixed family, to his emergence in New Orleans as the city's hottest band leader. The Ory band featured such future jazz stars as Louis Armstrong and King Oliver, and was widely considered New Orleans's top "hot" band. Ory's career took him from New Orleans to California, where he and his band created the first African American New Orleans jazz recordings ever made. In 1925 he moved to Chicago where he made records with Oliver, Armstrong, and Jelly Roll Morton that captured the spirit of the jazz age. His most famous composition from that period, "Muskrat Ramble," is a jazz standard. Retired from music during the Depression, he returned in the 1940s and enjoyed a reignited career. Drawing on oral history and Ory's unpublished autobiography, Creole Trombone is a story that is told in large measure by Ory himself. The author reveals Ory's personality to the reader and shares remarkable stories of incredible innovations of the jazz pioneer. The book also features unpublished Ory compositions, photographs, and a selected discography of his most significant recordings.

David Baker: A Legacy in Music

Top Brass: Interviews and Master Classes with Jazz's Leading Brass Players

Travels with My Trombone: A Caribbean Journey

"From the siesta to the fiesta, the lifeblood of the Caribbean is its music, the infectious rhythms of salsa, calypso, and zouk, with their mellifluous vocals and brilliant brass. Henry Shukman, with the rare attributes of being both a professional writer and an ace trombone player, left London for Trinidad to tap some of this bravura by joining a calypso band - the very heartbeat of the islands." "Caught in the exhilaration of carnival in Port of Spain, jamming with a police band in Grenada, witness to the thunderous drumming of the invocation of the god Shango in Trinidad, and learning the unfamiliar style of zouk for a one-night stand in Dominica, Shukman's quest to share the musical roots of the people of the islands uncovered a world of powerful eroticism, ritual, and mysticism. And on the mainland, the then travel hardened Shukman was hurled into another kaleidoscopic world of prostitutes and carnival in the Colombian salsa capital Cali, sang the revered vallenato in the plaza of the northern town of La Gloria, and was awoken in Cartagena to the nightmare of being falsely arrested by soldiers as a suspected drug trafficker." "Travels with My Trombone is the extraordinary pilgrimage of a young man whose journey to the Caribbean to fulfill his dreams as a musician was eventually outstripped by the helter-skelter of the bewitching salsa and wild magic of carnival. It is a powerful, mesmerizing, compulsive tale, driven by the sexual and musical passion of a world that, as Shukman soon discovered, can never be tamed."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved