It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To facilitate remote teaching and learning in music, the Wilson Music Library has licensed Classical Scores Library, an online database of Western art music scores featuring works from the Middle Ages through the 21st century. Currently numbering 53,000 individual works, Classical Scores Library features editions from a variety of publishers, including Universal, Faber, Boosey & Hawkes, Peters, and A-R. Classical Scores Library has a mobile-friendly interface, making it easy to work with scores on tablets.
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for bassoon music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
M75-M79, bassoon alone
M253-M254, bassoon and piano
M1026, bassoon with orchestra (full score)
M1027, bassoon with orchestra (piano reduction)
M1126, bassoon with string orchestra (full score)
M1127, bassoon with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Music Bibliographies for Bassoon:
Bibliographies compile lists of materials by topic. The Music Library owns several bibliographies of bassoon music that can help you to find repertoire by composer, difficulty level, etc.
Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon by Jon P. Beebe
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .B26 B43 1990
Publication Date: 1990-07-01
The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon by Kristine K. Fletcher
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .B26 F6 1988
Publication Date: 1988-03-01
Bassoon Bibliography by Bodo Koenisgbeck
Call Number: Music Reference, ML128 .B26 K64 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Books on the Bassoon:
In addition to the titles listed below, you can browse for books about the bassoon in the following call number ranges:
ML419, Biographies of instrumentalists
ML 940 - ML 943, oboe - general, history and construction, music and playing
The Library Catalog finds print and electronic items, including books, scores, CDs/DVDs, journal and newspaper articles, reviews, and much more. This search includes content from numerous sources, such as open-access repositories, and many, though not all, individual databases to which Vanderbilt subscribes.
Bassoon Family-Fingering Companion - Authored by Terry B. Ewell and maintained by the International Double Reed Society, this is an online index featuring fingerings for both Heckel-system and Buffet-system bassoons, historical bassoons, contrabassoons, and other double reeds.
The WWW Bassoon Reed Project - A web project sponsored by the International Double Reed Society and Scrapes Journal, this site features descriptions and color photographs of reeds made and used by professional bassoonists.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.