Library Home Page
www.library.vanderbilt.edu
For most questions you'll receive at the desk, the answers can be found on the library's homepage through one of the quick links available. Aside from the catalog searching tool at the top, the home page provides information regarding library services and commonly asked questions.
In the left column, patrons can find information on the library's services, research resources, or live chat with a librarian. The middle section contains blog posts and updates from the library staff about events, projects, or resources available to patrons. In the right column, you can view the libraries' hours and access each library's main webpage.
- Interlibrary Loan links directly to where faculty, staff, and students can request items from other universities' libraries or suggest a purchase for Vanderbilt's collection.
- Study Rooms/Carrels provides information on how to reserve study spaces or rooms to host events, not just at Central but all campus libraries. It also provides information for graduate students who are interested in reserved carrels and the contact person for that request, Kim Yandell (kimberly.d.yandell@vanderbilt.edu).
- Technology/Off Campus Access allows you to view laptop availability across the campus libraries, which is useful to direct students to if we are currently out of laptops available for loan. It also contains useful information about accessing electronic resources from off-campus.
- Ask a Librarian is the primary resource for anyone who has an extended research question we cannot answer or general questions about research databases or other electronic resources.
- Librarians By Subject provides a breakdown of what librarians a student should be referred to based on their departments and subject areas of expertise.
- Research Guides provide instruction on various research-related questions, library access, navigating the library's resources, and subject specific style guides. There's a search bar at the top that will allow you to search keywords from all guides to direct patrons in the right direction.
Staff Directory
If a patron needs the contact information for a specific librarian, library staff member, or department, we have a staff directory available on the main website by going to About -> Staff and Departments.
On this page, you can search for someone either by last name or library/unit. If you're trying to find the phone number for a specific library's service desk or non-library department, the most frequently used numbers are available on the phone reference sheet beside each phone at the service desk.
https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/staff/
Access & Use
If a patron has a question about borrowing policies and lost items, the best resource to direct them toward is the Access and Use page, which can be accessed through the library website by clicking "About" and then selecting "Access and Use" from the drop down menu.
https://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/about/accessanduse.php
From this webpage, you can answer almost any question about a user's access to the library building and catalogue. Some examples include:
- How long users are able to loan items, which varies between undergraduates, graduates, and faculty
- How many items users are allowed have checked out at one time
- Items with special loan periods, like laptops and media equipment
- Information on our Fines and Lost Items policies
Ask A Librarian
For general research questions, electronic access issues, or other concerns best addressed by librarians, the best resource to direct patrons to is Ask A Librarian. Patrons complete a quick form explaining their question, specific details, and if there is a specific library it should be routed to, and librarians will reach back out to the patron or point them in the right direction.
If someone at the desk has a reference question, direct them to the reference side of the desk. If there is a student assistant, they will be able to answer their question and tell them more about research resources. If no student is available, there should be a self-help kiosk available with direct links to Ask a Librarian or to schedule a research appointment.
