Library Student Assistant Training

Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries

Mission Statement: The Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries are fundamental to the university’s goal of advancing scholarship and learning. We collect, preserve and make accessible a wide variety of resources, we partner with faculty and students to shape research, and we encourage the development of informed scholars and engaged citizens. Read more

Overview of the Jean & Alexander Heard Libraries

The Library consists of eight campus libraries, plus Special Collections and University Archives, the Fine Arts Gallery, as well as a number of library departments. Each library has a special focus and together, they make up the Heard Library system.

Biomedical iconBiomedical icon

Annette and Irwin Eskind Family Biomedical Library

► Collection emphasis on Biomedical Research, Medicine, Nursing and Health Care
► Has its own ILL unit known as Document Delivery Service (DDS), and its own Technical Service staff
► Home to the History of Medicine Collections and the Digital Scholarship & Communications department

Central Library

► The largest campus library with a plethora of study spaces and group study rooms
► Collection emphasis on the Humanities & Social Sciences
► Leisure Reading and Video Collections, and Equipment checkout

Divinity Library

► Collection emphasis on religion and theology.
► Special Collections in Judaica, Ancient Near East and the online Revised Common Lectionary
► Provides support for church and ministry workers locally, as well as nationally via the Kesler Circulating Library

Fine Arts Gallery

► Promotes engagement with the visual arts through exhibitions, collections, research, and instruction

Alyne Queener Massey Law Library

► Provides access to a wide range of legal resources, as well as non-legal resources including business, science, and medical publications
► Law librarians can direct patrons to resources, but cannot answer legal questions

Walker Management Library

► Collection emphasis on Business, Management and Marketing

Anne Potter Wilson Music Library

► Collection emphasis on Music
► Specialized Collections of scores & sound recordings, and the Global Music Archive

Peabody Library

► Collection emphasis on Education, Human and Organizational Development
► Specialized collections include Curriculum & Test Materials

Sarah Shannon Stevenson Science & Engineering Library

► Collection emphasis on Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy and the various Engineering disciplines
► The only campus library open 24/5 throughout the academic year

Special Collections and University Archives

► Stores and provides access to Vanderbilt University's collection of rare books, manuscripts, etc.
► Houses one of the finest 20th century Southern Literature Collection in the United States

Overview of Other Library Departments and Units

Their functions are described below:

Resource Sharing Services

► Provides Faculty Delivery Services
► Provides national ILL services; book and documents can be requested and delivered

Digital Scholarship and Communications

► Manages Institutional Repository
► Provides GIS Services
► Handles data curation, digital humanities, and open access publishing/authors rights
technical services

Technical Services

► Provides cataloging and metadata services
► Handles acquisition of materials
► Management of electronic subscriptions
► Preservation, repair, and labeling of library materials

TV News Archives

► Core collection consists of 365 days a year coverage of daily evening national news.
► Includes special collection of special reports and historic broadcasts
► Database currently includes over 1 million records, including abstracts 

Annex and 21 North (remote storage units)

► The Annex houses off-site book storage
► Holds the largest collection of print material within the library system
► 21 North serves as archives storage unit
LTDS

Library Technology and Digital Services (LTDS)

► Provides system management and support for ILS and discovery layer
► Provides network support for library staff and public services

Government Information Services

► A depository for federal government documents, microfiche, CD-ROMS, and more
► The public is welcome to use the federal depository collection without charge
► The collection is currently housed in Central Library and the Law Library

Hilary Craiglow

Acting University Librarian

As interim university librarian, Craiglow will be the executive administrator of the Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries, which includes nine divisional libraries, the Fine Arts Gallery and the Television News Archive.

 


 

“I look forward to partnering with Vice Provost Beasley and our best-in-class library staff as well as others across the university duringthis leadership transition,” Craiglow said. “My work as a librarian is rooted in a conviction that access to quality information builds curiosity and knowledge for better decision-making and real-world problem-solving.”

Craiglow has been serving as interim associate university librarian for scholarly resources and services. In that role, she oversees learning endeavors ranging from library classroom instruction to virtual research assistance across all Heard Libraries and works closely with the directors of other specialized branch libraries—biomedical, divinity, music, Peabody, and science and engineering—on their localized library services. In addition, Craiglow leads the library system’s director-level leadership team.

Many of Craiglow’s projects have a strong focus on technology. She created course-integrated instruction to teach students best practices on information discovery and use, including ethical sharing of information and intellectual property. In addition, she developed co-curricular programs designed to help students understand and have facility with software computing and data visualization tools. Through the management library, she has helped to build Vanderbilt’s collection of information, tools and data, with an eye to seamless access for faculty and students. She plans to extend that effort to the broader university community.

She previously chaired the university-wide faculty-staff committee that wrote Vanderbilt’s copyright policy for course management systems.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, she was a member of the Owen Graduate School of Management’s leadership team responding to and planning for health and safety protocols. In addition, she helped the libraries develop new services and modalities to maintain expert library services and resources during the pandemic.

Before joining Vanderbilt in 2006, Craiglow worked for Questia Media, a digital library service, where she developed search and online marketing strategies. Her previous positions have included working in a knowledge management center at an R&D facility and directing a regional library in Texas.

Craiglow earned a bachelor of arts from Antioch College, where she majored in human development, and a master of library and information science from the University of Texas at Austin.

 

Vanderbilt Libraries Organization Chart

Map of Library Locations

Campus library map with parking info

map of libraries

 

Library Floor Plans

Floor plans of the library buildings