Open Access
Images utilized on this LibGuide are sourced from open access sources or created in house. Open access image sources will be noted at the bottom of each corresponding page, if used once. If an image is used multiple times, source information will be noted once.
Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries
Mission Statement: Vanderbilt's Heard Libraries is a preeminent, academic research library system that acquires, preserves and makes accessible the world's information and engenders a community of collaboration, adaptability and innovation to address deep inquiry and challenges facing all of humanity. Read more
Overview of the Jean & Alexander Heard Libraries
The Library consists of eight campus libraries, plus Special Collections and University Archives, the Fine Arts Gallery, as well as a number of library departments. Each library has a special focus and together, they make up the Heard Library system.
Annette and Irwin Eskind Family Biomedical Library► Collection emphasis on Biomedical Research, Medicine, Nursing and Health Care► Has its own ILL unit known as Document Delivery Service (DDS), and its own Technical Service staff► Home to the History of Medicine Collections and the Digital Scholarship & Communications department |
|
 |
Central Library► The largest campus library with a plethora of study spaces and group study rooms► Collection emphasis on the Humanities & Social Sciences► Leisure Reading and Video Collections, and Equipment checkout |
 |
Divinity Library► Collection emphasis on religion and theology.► Special Collections in Judaica, Ancient Near East and the online Revised Common Lectionary► Provides support for church and ministry workers locally, as well as nationally via the Kesler Circulating Library |
Fine Arts Gallery► Promotes engagement with the visual arts through exhibitions, collections, research, and instruction |
|
Alyne Queener Massey Law Library► Provides access to a wide range of legal resources, as well as non-legal resources including business, science, and medical publications► Law librarians can direct patrons to resources, but cannot answer legal questions |
|
Walker Management Library► Collection emphasis on Business, Management and Marketing |
|
Anne Potter Wilson Music Library► Collection emphasis on Music► Specialized Collections of scores & sound recordings, and the Global Music Archive |
|
Peabody Library► Collection emphasis on Education, Human and Organizational Development► Specialized collections include Curriculum & Test Materials |
|
Sarah Shannon Stevenson Science & Engineering Library► Collection emphasis on Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy and the various Engineering disciplines► The only campus library open 24/5 throughout the academic year |
|
Special Collections and University Archives► Stores and provides access to Vanderbilt University's collection of rare books, manuscripts, etc.► Houses one of the finest 20th century Southern Literature Collection in the United States |
Overview of Other Library Departments and Units
Their functions are described below:
 |
Resource Sharing Services► Provides Faculty Delivery Services► Provides national ILL services; book and documents can be requested and delivered |
 |
Digital Scholarship and Communications► Manages Institutional Repository► Provides GIS Services► Handles data curation, digital humanities, and open access publishing/authors rights |
 |
Technical Services► Provides cataloging and metadata services► Handles acquisition of materials► Management of electronic subscriptions► Preservation, repair, and labeling of library materials |
 |
TV News Archives► Core collection consists of 365 days a year coverage of daily evening national news.► Includes special collection of special reports and historic broadcasts► Database currently includes over 1 million records, including abstracts |
 |
Annex and 21 North (remote storage units)► The Annex houses off-site book storage► Holds the largest collection of print material within the library system► 21 North serves as archives storage unit |
|
Library Technology and Digital Services (LTDS)► Provides system management and support for ILS and discovery layer► Provides network support for library staff and public services |
 |
Government Information Services► A depository for federal government documents, microfiche, CD-ROMS, and more► The public is welcome to use the federal depository collection without charge► The collection is currently housed in Central Library and the Law Library |
Jon Shaw is the university librarian of the Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries at Vanderbilt University. As University Librarian at Vanderbilt, Shaw serves as the leader for the Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries, comprised of nine campus libraries, including the university's Special Collections and University Archives, the Digital Commons, and the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. Focused on the libraries' ambitious growth and renewal, Shaw builds collaborative relationships with community and university stakeholders and provides strategic vision for a forward-looking library system that is engaged and aligned with the university's endeavors.
Prior to coming to Vanderbilt in July 2022, he was Associate Vice Provost and Deputy University Librarian for the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. There, he served as the lead administrator for operations, chief strategist and senior advisor to the H. Carlton Rogers III Vice Provost of the Penn Libraries. Over the course of his Penn Libraries career, Jon has chaired various enterprise-wide initiatives, from capital projects to technology solutions. He has guided several strategic plans and has spearheaded civic engagement partnerships, including the formative collaboration with the Athenaeum of Philadelphia and the model partnership that led to the support and building of Penn Libraries' community outreach program. He has also produced world-class exhibits, including The Civil War: An Ephemeral Lens of the Life and Times and Prehistoric Wessex and; led the collaborative digital humanities teaching and research initiative between Penn, Swarthmore, Haverford and Bryn Mawr colleges on the Penn Libraries' collection of British and American Fiction Collection, 1660-1830.
Vanderbilt Libraries Organization Chart
Map of Library LocationsCampus library map with parking info |
|
