Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Stage & Screen: The Star Quality of Vanderbilt's Performing Arts Collections: Tango

Resources in the Library

Simon Collier Collection

 

 For music recordings you can go to the advanced search in Library Catalog and search the words Simon Collier and narrow to the Music Library.

For tango films in our collections, search tango in Library Catalog and click on the link beside the Library Catalog search box for "DVD/Video Search." 

 

Contact

For more information about this exhibit, please contact

Books on Tango

 
Collier, Simon, et al. Tango!: The dance, the song, the story.  NY: Thames and Hudson, 1995. GV 1796. T3 T364 1995 Oversize 3d floor Central Library. 

 

Ferrer, Horacio. The Golden Age of Tango: An illustrated compendium of its history. Buenos Aires: Manrique Zago, 1998.      GV 1796.T3 F39613 1998 Oversize. 3d floor Central Library. 

Online Resources

Todotango:  An excellent source for biographical information on tango celebrities in history it includes tango history, stories, interviews, lyrics and music.  Many of the tango stars in Vanderbilt's tango photo album (on display in Tango case in the Gallery) are featured in Todotango.

What is Library Catalog?

Library Catalog is the library catalog for ALL of the 9 Vanderbilt Libraries. 

You can use it to find:

  • Books
  • DVDs & Videos
  • Periodical Titles ( but not individual articles)
  • Reserve materials
  • and more...

Special Collections Resources

 

Photograph from a Tango Photo Album in the Simon Collier Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections.

The Simon Collier Collection includes letters, memorabilia, hundreds of tango recordings, his album notes, and manuscripts from Professor Collier’s extensive collection on the tango, which he bequeathed to Vanderbilt.

 

  

“La Garçonne,” sheet music illustration from portfolio Lástima bandoneón: al recuerdo de Pichuco. Buenos Aires: Ediciones Hualen, 1975. Simon Collier Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections.