Library of Congress Subject Headings
Animated films--United States--History and criticism
Mann, Delbert, 1920-2007--Archives--Catalogs
Motion picture industry--Technological innovations
Motion picture producers and directors--United States
Motion pictures--United States--Production and direction
Television producers and directors--United States
Television--United States--Production and direction
Photo Caption: [Delbert Mann Accepting the Oscar for 1955 Best Picture],March 21, 1956, Delbert Mann Papers, Vanderbilt University Special Collections
Contact
For more information about the exhibits Marty, The Petrified Forest, and Fantasia, please contact Celia Walker.
Film & Television
Great performances, whether they are on television or film, cast a spell on their viewers and we,sitting in the dark theatre, are entranced. It may be 105 degrees outside or snowing like mad but inside we are oblivious to temperature and time. Truly great art suspends our disbelief, allowing us to think for a short while that we are in the Stardust Ballroom with Marty Piletti or bailing water with the Sorcerer's Apprentice. It takes hundreds of talented individuals to make a performance appear effortless—the costume designers, directors, lighting crew and set designers all work behind the scenes, often with little recognition, to create these moments of genius.
Photo Caption: RKO Radio Pictures, Inc., Walt Disney Takes You behind the Scenes!, 1937, photograph, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections
Electronic Resources
Special Collections Resources
Vanderbilt University's Special Collections holds a wealth of materials about television and film production from the view of the director (Delbert Mann), the agent/collector (Francis Robinson), the executive (Julian Goodman) and the journalist (Louis Nicholas). The James G. Stahlman Autograph Collection contains hundreds of celebrity signatures, including Walt Disney's.
Goodman, Julian B. Papers
Mann, Delbert Papers - Addition
Francis Arthur Robinson Papers
Robinson, Francis Arthur Papers - Addition
WSM Radio and Television Collection
Photo Caption: Warner Brothers Pictures, Inc., Watch the Kitten: Leslie Howard and Humphrey Bogart Relax between Scenes of the Warner Picturization of Last Year's Stage Success, "The Petrified Forest," 1936, photograph, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections
