Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Stage & Screen: The Star Quality of Vanderbilt's Performing Arts Collections: Dance on Film

Resources in the Library

Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Astaire, Fred

Astaire, Adele

Choreographers--United States--Biography

Dance--United States--History--20th century

Dance in motion pictures, television, etc.--United States--History

Dancers--United States--Biography

Kelly, Gene, 1912-1996

Musicals--United States--History and criticism

Pan, Hermes, 1905-1990

Rogers, Ginger, 1911-1995

For films in our collections,  click on the link beside the Library Catalog search box for "DVD/Video Search."

Photo caption: Vandamm Studio, [Gene Kelly], 1939, photograph, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections

Dance on Film

“Either the camera will dance, or I will.” Until Fred Astaire, dance in film was epitomized by Busby Berkeley extravaganzas, where hundreds of dancers stood still and the camera swirled around them. The consummate showmen, Astaire, Gene Kelly and other dancer/choreographers depicted dance as an integral part of the narrative.

Photo credit:RKO Radio Pictures, Stopped in Action, c. 1936, photograph, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections

Online Resources

Internet Broadway Database

Internet Movie Database

TCM Movie Database

CBS Evening News, Astaire Death June 22, 1987, Vanderbilt Television News Archive

ABC Evening News, Astaire Death, June 22, 1987, Vanderbilt Television News Archive

ABC Evening News, Kelly Death, February 2, 1996, Vanderbilt television News Archive

CBS Evening News, Ebsen Death, July 7, 2003, Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Photo Caption: Fred A. Parrish, Radio Pictures, Wanted: 24 Dance Partners for Fred Astaire! 1936, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections

Special Collections Resources

Louis Thurston Nicolas Papers

Francis Arthur Robinson Papers

Photo Caption: RKO Radio Pictures, [Bill "Bojangles" Robinson],  1935, photograph, Francis Robinson Collection, Vanderbilt University Special Collections

Contact

For more information about this exhibit, please contact Celia Walker.