Aviary

Any form of name: LCNAF 

For contextual {role) labels: PB Core (creator role and contributor role)

Where known, select a relevant contextual label for an individual’s role. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be added by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

[Performer] 

Gillespie, Dizzy, 1917-1993 

[Musician] 

Turner, Othar 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Composer;; Lateef, Yusef| Interviewee;; Alexander, Lamar, 1940- 

LCNAF 

For contextual labels, since there isn’t a relevant area in PBCORE or the LC vocabularies for this element, seek to use existing labels in Aviary. 

Applicable as relevant. 

Geographic or temporal nature of the resource. Add contextual labels where relevant.  

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be generated by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|).

[spatial] 

Nashville (Tenn.) 

Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) 

Kentucky 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

spatial;; Sweden| spatial;; Zaria (Nigeria) 

File naming convention:  

MS#-item#-collection_name-part# 

For example: MS1034-19-lateef-01 

For known dates: 

ISO 8601 

(YYYY-MM-DD 

YYYY-MM 

YYYY) 

For undated/circa: 

DACS 

For additional contextual labels not on the list: 

 PBCore (@dateType) 

Where known, select a relevant contextual label for the date (e.g., created, performed, etc.) 

[For Resource CSV File:]

Contextual labels can be generated by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

[broadcast] 

1978-09-30 

undated 

[captured] 

2015-03 

If undated, spell out “undated.”  

DACS identifies common date types including date of creation, date of record-keeping activity, date of publication, date of broadcast. Contextual labels need not go beyond these.   

[For Resource CSV File:] 

created;; 1982-07-18| captured;; circa 1987| performed;; 1999-08-22 

Contents or Notes 

For more contextual labels: PBCore 

(where possible) 

Additional contextual labels come preset in Aviary, and different communities may have additional descriptors relevant to their audiences. 

Contents, context, label info, summary, etc. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be added by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

. 

[summary] 

A discussion of overarching political issues as pertains to Newt Gingrich’s rise to Speaker of the House. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

contents;; The four seasons. Concerto no. 3 in F major, op. 8, RV 293 : L'autunno = Autumn / Antonio Vivaldi -- Shuo (21:28) / Chen Yi. 

PBCore – Audio 

PBCore – Film 

PBCore – Video 

PBCore – Media  

PBCore – Generations 

The original format of the media file. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

8mm film 

Audio CD 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Audio cassette| U-matic| Betamax| Flexi Disc 

External identifier associated with the resource. Contextual labels advised. 

Add the corresponding MSS number for the physical collection to the identifier. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be generated by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Separate multiple publishers with the pipe character (|).

. 

[local] 

MSS.0765-042-001 

[Alma MMS ID] 

991043523544203276 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

local;; MSS.1034-023-047| Alma MMS ID;; 991005553619703276 

Uncontrolled access terms. This area can be used to supply useful keywords not present in the controlled fields. 

[For Resource CSV File:]

Separate multiple entries with the pipe character (|). 

The language of the resource. Add contextual labels where relevant. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be added by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

French 

[primary] 

English 

[secondary] 

Hawaiian 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

primary;; English| secondary;; Spanish 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Separate multiple publishers with the pipe character (|). 

Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.) 

Vanderbilt University 

PBCore: 

Derived From References  

Is Referenced By  

Is Related To  

Is Part Of  

Has Version  

Is Version Of 

Applicable as relevant. 

Contextual labels from PBCore. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Contextual labels can be added by adding the label text at the beginning and following it with two semicolons. Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

[References] 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Is Part Of;;  

Currently using: 

Vanderbilt University Special Collections provides access to rare and distinctive books, manuscripts, photographs, audio-visual materials, and archival collections that enrich scholarship, education, and discovery. In doing so, we comply with United States copyright law and its applicable exceptions. Due to the nature of our collections, many of the copyrights to these materials are in the public domain, but others belong to the creators or their estates. While users are free to copy reasonable amounts from these collections for their educational, scholarly, and private use, they must receive written permission from the rights holders before publishing from our collections. Questions about rights holders may be directed to Special Collections staff, but we are unable to arrange permission unless all rights are held by Vanderbilt. The user assumes all responsibility for questions of copyright. The user agrees to indemnify and hold harmless Vanderbilt University, its officers, employees, and agents from and against all claims that may arise from the use of the material. 

Applicable where relevant.

Terms reflecting the topical content of the resource. 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Separate multiple entries with the pipe character (|). 

Labor unions 

Music—20th century—Philosophy and aesthetics 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Campaign promises| Coal ash sites| Emergency management 

Category (genre) of a resource 

[For Resource CSV File:]

Multiple entries should be separated with the pipe character (|). 

Filmed performances 

Field recordings 

Campaign speeches 

Alternate takes (Sound recordings) 

Country music 

Chamber music 

Sonatas 

Radio talk shows 

Television commercials 

Tangos (Music) 

Filmed dance 

[For Resource CSV File:] 

Interviews| Oral histories| Jazz| Plays| Television talk shows

Aviary can be configured for localized metadata fields. These local custom fields must be activated for each collection individually. 

Series is one example of data that can be recorded in this manner. 

[Series] 

Traditions in Swing (Phil Schaap radio series) 

Birthday Broadcasts—Annual (Phil Schaap radio series)