It is recommended that collections be created in Aviary first before creating the items within them. Detailed instructions in Aviary's documentation for creating collections can also be found at this link.
| Field | Required (Y/N) | Notes | Controlled Vocabulary | Examples |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collection Banner | N | Select an image to represent the collection as a whole as a title banner. Suggested dimensions: 1200 x 300 px or aspect ratio from 3:1 to 6:1. | ||
| Collection Favicon |
N |
Select an image to represent the collection. A favicon is used in search results cards and other locations where the collection is mentioned within the site. [Any guidelines as to dimensions or size?] Note: Besides the Collection Banner and Collection Favicon, there is a “Card Image” that represents how a collection displays in the master list alongside all the other collections. But, this cannot be designated here. You will have to return to the collection’s edit mode after saving it to upload an image file. |
||
| Collection Name | Y |
Enter the name of the collection. Name of creator/collector + nature of material described |
DACS guidelines |
Yusef Abdul Lateef Collection Lamar Alexander Papers |
| About Your Collection | N |
Free-text field for describing a collection. |
|
|
| Public |
Y |
Yes/no. Setting Public to “Yes” makes your collection visible and discoverable by any users who visit the site. “No” restricts visibility to logged in users from your organization, as well as any users who have been granted permission to the collection directly in a Permission Group, Important: choose No at first until you are ready for the items to become public. Also, before making any collection publicly available in Aviary, consult the Deed of Gift for any copyright concerns. |
yes/no | |
| Featured | Y | Yes/no. Allows your Collection to show up in the Aviary’s Featured Collections lane in your Aviary home page. | yes/no | |
| Clone from Existing Collection? (checkbox) | N | Can be used to pre-configure metadata if you want a new collection to act like one of the existing ones. |
Click Save.
On the subsequent list of collections, select View, Edit, Delete, or Manage Resources if needed. Note that deleting a collection will delete all the items in that collection as well, so be careful.
