Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on Right of Publicity in India
For each book, hover over the "i" button to get more information about the book.
Media Ethics and Justice in the Age of Globalization by
This book uses global perspectives to address questions of media ethics and justice in a local and transnational global environment, and examines the common denominator running through such disparate investigations of theories and practices of media ethics and justice in the democracies of India, South Africa, Pakistan, and the United States.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1137498269Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Entertainment Law, 2000 by
This year's special issue of the Comparative Law Yearbook of International Business is devoted to Entertainment Law. This topic covers a number of areas of law which are in common use in commercial practice, such as contract law, employment law, agency and distribution, as well as its own specialized regulations regarding, for example, royalties, venues, piracy and censorship. Each chapter of the book discusses the various sections of the entertainment industry: publishing, music, films, television, radio and theatre. These sections, in turn, involve the rights that exist in original works, who owns those rights, their assignment and licensing, the ways in which they are protected, and the remedies available for their infringement. In addition, the authors describe the regulatory systems in place in their jurisdictions to ensure, inter alia, the safety of venues and the standard and quality of productions and programs, including the control of potentially offensive material for reasons of obscenity and racial or sexual discrimination. The authors of this book are all professionals in the area of entertainment law and cover jurisdictions in Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America and South America. This work should, therefore, be of great interest to anyone involved in the entertainment industry and their legal representatives.
Call Number: K563 .E58 E585 2000ISBN: 9041198407Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Exporting the Matrix by
Exporting the Matrix presents the personal accounts of fifteen leading media law experts who have worked pro bono helping transitional democracies adopt progressive media laws. Their experiences and insights in helping to shape press laws abroad make for compelling reading. Several essays provide practical advice for layers working abroad on a variety of development projects. Some describe the laws undergoing reform, while others assess the progress that American lawyers have made, with their counterparts abroad, in creating less hostile legal environments. These accounts vindicate the book's theme, that "Freedom of thought and speech¿is the matrix, the indispensable condition, of nearly every other form of freedom."
Call Number: K4285 .E97 2012ISBN: 1611631467Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Try using an advanced search using Subject Headings.
You can also combine Subject Headings with Keywords to find any books on arbitration of domain name disputes.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
- Sample Search on WorldCatYou don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
eg. su:Publicity (Law) AND su:India - Google BooksDo a search like:
"publicity law" OR "right of publicity" AND India
This search may be less useful because it also references Indian tribes in the U.S., so you can add -tribe and -tribes to the search to remove references to Native American tribes (unfortunately this will also remove any reference to tribes in India).
So a better way to do this search might be to remove books that contain the term Native American.
When you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog. - Library CatalogSample Search: Subject: Publicity (Law).
Add to this search the subject headings shown on the top right of this pate and the name of the country of interest, India as a subject heading or key word. - vLexTry using some of the same recommended search terms shown above. This will allow you to search for legal news, law journals and cases from foreign countries that discuss this topic.
Sample search.
Search for a primary and secondary sources on the topic
- Westlaw: Dr. Kalyan C. Kankanala & Sandeep Hegde M., Publicity Rights in India, 39 N. Ky. L. Rev. 247 (2012)adv: ("right of publicity" or "publicity right") /s India
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
- HeinOnline: Sample SearchUse the limiters on the left to further limit your results or use the search within function to add more keywords.
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for relevant terms. Always use the most closely related synonym for your term that appears in the dropdown menus. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- LegalTrac
Mostly U.S. and some Canadian scholarly legal articles.
Start typing in keywords related to your topic.
After you use the link above to log in, you can try this sample search: Subject ("right of publicity") And search within results for keyword India. - Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
After you log in using the link above, try this sample search
Blawgs
Blawgs
Loading ...
Search Terms
Search Terms
Also try using these search terms:
India - subject heading
right of publicity
right of privacy
Publicity rights
Publicity values
publicity laws
celebrity rights
personality rights
Subject Headings
Suggested Resources
Suggested Resources
Subscription Databases
- Bloomberg LawYou will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Getting the Deal Through, Right of Publicity 2017, India, Vaishali Mittal, Anand and Anand
.
Resources on the Free Web
- Delhi High CourtYou can search for cases using a keyword from this database. This is an official court website.
