Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on 10bis of the Paris Convention
Commentary on the Paris Convention
Search Library Catalog for Commentary on the Paris Convention.
Resources on the Free Web
When was 10bis added to the Convention and why?
Try using this Subject Heading to find any books on the History of the Paris Convention
Library Catalog Subject Heading Search
- Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property -- HistoryYou can copy and paste this same Subject Heading and use it in WorldCat to see if there are additional books on the History of the Convention that aren't available at Vanderbilt Library. Then either request an interlibrary loan or ask your librarian to purchase the item for the library.
WorldCat Subject Heading Search
- su:Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property History.You don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
10bis Legislative History
The Trips Regime of Antitrust and Undisclosed Information by Call Number: Not yet availableISBN: 9041126430Publication Date: 2007-01-01This book is on order and should be available by 3/9/2016. In the meantime, this link goes to the page on 10bis legislative history that appears on Google Books.
When you obtain the book, mine the footnotes for additional references.
Comparison
A. Common Law (2 sample countries)
The Legislation and How applied in the Courts
The easiest thing to do here would be to look for one U.S. case and then search the foreign law database vLex, as well as the Encyclopedia of Laws and Westlaw/Lexis/HeinOnline and Bloomberg Law (especially their World Intellectual Property Report™) for a legal news article or a scholarly article about a relevant case. It is practical to also check Google Scholar, but Westlaw and Lexis & Bloomberg Law will allow you to do the most precise searches. eg. "Paris Convention" /5 10bis.
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
A. Civil Law (2 sample countries)
The Legislation and How applied in the Courts
Start with the foreign law database vLex, as well as the Encyclopedia of Laws if these yield nothing useful then try the other options listed above, but for Civil Law foreign materials, these are your best bet.
Suggested Databases
Full-Text databases
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowFind english sources of law online
Find laws from individual countries on IP
- International Encyclopaedia of LawsSearch for "Paris Convention" AND 10bis
You will find many chapters on IP law of foreign countries discussing the Paris Convention and potentially also mentioning 10bis. - Google BooksDo the same search and when you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog. See example to the left on Legislative History of 10bis.
- Kluwer Intellectual Property"provides information on international intellectual property law. It includes access to books, journals, and practice tools. It also is a resource for international intellectual property law news."
- Westlaw: adv: ("Paris Convention" /5 10bis)Log into Westlaw first then click this link
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for the terms Paris and 10bis. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
