Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on Role of IPRs in Dealing with Climate Change Among Developing Countries
For each book, hover over the "i" button to get more information about the book.
Research Handbook on Intellectual Property and Climate Change by Call Number: K1401 .R4679 2016ISBN: 9781849804677Publication Date: 2016-04-29Written by a global group of leading scholars, this wide-ranging Research Handbook provides insightful analysis, useful historical perspective, and a point of reference on the controversial nexus of climate change law and policy, intellectual property law and policy, innovation policy, technology transfer, and trade.The contributors provide a unique review of the scientific background, international treaties, and political and institutional contexts of climate change and intellectual property law. They further identify critical conflicts and differences of approach between developed and developing countries. Finally they put forward and analyse the relevant intellectual property law doctrines and policy options for funding, developing, disseminating, and regulating the required technologies and their associated activities and business practices. The book will serve as a resource and reference tool for scholars, policymakers and practitioners looking to understand the issues at the interface of intellectual property and climate change.
Technology Transfer for Renewable Energy by
This book highlights the role that renewable energy can play in achieving sustainable development. It focuses on rural areas of developing countries, looking in particular at stand-alone solar home systems and grid-connected biomass cogeneration plant. It provides a summary of the main barriers to the successful transfer of renewable energy technology, illustrated by case studies drawn from Indonesia, the Philippines, Vietnam, Thailand, the South Pacific, Kenya and India. Options for overcoming the barriers and the role of key players are presented. The book also outlines the potential role of the Clean Development Mechanism of the Kyoto Protocol in facilitating renewable energy technology transfer in the context of climate change.The book will appeal to academics, consultants, technology manufacturers, international funding bodies, multilateral and bilateral aid agencies, policy-makers and planners in developing countries.
Call Number: TJ807.9 .D44 W555 2002 (Available at the Central Library)ISBN: 1853837539Publication Date: 2002-03-19
The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law by
Climate change presents one of the greatest challenges of our time, and has become one of the defining issues of the twenty-first century. The radical changes which both developed and developing countries will need to make, in economic and in legal terms, to respond to climate change areunprecedented. International law, including treaty regimes, institutions, and customary international law, needs to address the myriad challenges and consequences of climate change, including variations in the weather patterns, sea level rise, and the resulting migration of peoples.The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law provides an unprecedented and authoritative overview of all aspects of international climate change law as it currently stands, with guidance for how it should develop in the future. Over forty leading scholars and practitioners set out acomprehensive understanding of the legal issues that surround this vitally important but still emerging area of international law. This book addresses the major legal dimensions of the problems caused by climate change: not only in the content and nature of the international legal frameworks, whichneed implementation at the national level, but also the development of carbon trading systems as a means of reducing the costs of meeting emission reduction targets. After an introduction to the field, the Handbook assesses the relevant institutions, the key applicable principles of internationallaw, the international mitigation regime and its consequences, and climate change litigation, before providing perspectives focused upon specific countries or regions.The Handbook will be an invaluable resource for scholars, students, and practitioners of international climate change law. It provides readers with diverse perspectives, bringing together interpretations from different disciplines, countries, and cultures.
Call Number: K3585.5 .O94 2016ISBN: 019968460XPublication Date: 2016-05-24
Intellectual Property and Climate Change by
In the wake of the international summits in Copenhagen and Canc#65533;n, there is an urgent need to consider the role of intellectual property law in encouraging research, development, and diffusion of clean technologies to mitigate and adapt to the effects of climate change. This book charts the patent landscapes and legal conflicts emerging in a range of fields of innovation - including renewable forms of energy, such as solar power, wind power, and geothermal energy; as well as biofuels, green chemistry, green vehicles, energy efficiency, and smart grids. As well as reviewing key international treaties, this book provides a detailed analysis of current trends in patent policy and administration in key nation states, and offers clear recommendations for law reform. It considers such options as technology transfer, compulsory licensing, public sector licensing, and patent pools; and analyses the development of Climate Innovation Centres, the Eco-Patent Commons, and environmental prizes, such as the L-Prize, the H-Prize, and the X-Prizes.This book will have particular appeal to policy-makers given its focus upon recent legislative developments and reform proposals, as well as legal practitioners by developing a better understanding of recent legal, scientific, and business developments, and how they affect their practice. Innovators, scientists and researchers will also benefit from reading this book.
Call Number: K1401 .R56 2011ISBN: 1848446241Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Environmental Technologies, Intellectual Property and Climate Change by
Many disciplines are relevant to combating climate change. This challenging book draws together legal, regulatory, geographic, industrial and professional perspectives and explores the role of technologies in addressing climate change through mitigation, adaptation and information gathering. It explores some key issues. Is intellectual property part of the solution, an obstacle to change or peripheral? Are there more important questions? Do they receive the attention they deserve? And from whom? This innovative book will play an important role in stimulating holistic discussion and action on an issue of key importance to society.Environmental Technologies, Intellectual Property and Climate Change will appeal strongly to scholars researching IP and climate change, as well as to a range of professionals including venture capitalists, practising lawyers working in IP, environmental and corporate finance law, activists within both climate change and human rights, and policymakers.
Call Number: K1504.8 .E58 2013ISBN: 0857934171Publication Date: 2013-06-28
Clean Tech Intellectual Property by
Clean Tech Intellectual Property: Eco-marks, Green Patents, and Green Innovation, by Eric L. Lane, is the first comprehensive review of intellectual property and clean technology. It analyzes the interplay of clean technologies and IP regimes using industry trends, legal developments and case studies to demonstrate how IP law is influencing the growth of clean tech and how green business models are shaping IP practice. The book explains how clean tech companies can leverage green patents to create and expand their businesses and includes strategies and cases studies relating to prosecuting green patent applications, building green patent portfolios, and licensing clean technologies. The effects of significant green patent and trademark litigation on the clean tech industry are also examined. Special focus is given to issues of "eco-mark" prosecution and green branding, from the brand owner perspective and from a consumer protection standpoint, including a discussion of "greenwashing." The book critically examines clean tech IP policies and discusses the international debate over the role of IP in efforts to curb global climate change.
Call Number: KF2979 .L359 2011ISBN: 0199737096Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Try using an advanced search using Subject Headings.
You can also combine Subject Headings with Keywords to find any books on the role of IPRs in dealing with climate change among developing countries.
- Sample Search on WorldCatYou don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
- Google BooksDo a search like:
climate change developing countries intellectual property law
When you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog. - vLexTry using some of the same recommended search terms shown above. This will allow you to search for legal news, law journals and cases from foreign countries that discuss this topic.
Sample search: "climate change" "developing countries" "intellectual property"
Search for a law review article on the topic
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
- Search in Full Text for: "climate change" AND "developing countries" AND "intellectual property"Use the limiters on the left to further limit your results or use the search within function to add more keywords.
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for relevant terms. Always use the most closely related synonym for your term that appears in the dropdown menus. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- LegalTrac
Mostly U.S. and some Canadian scholarly legal articles.
Start typing in keywords related to your topic.
After you use the link above to log in, you can try this sample search: Keyword ("Climate change") And Keyword ("Developing countries") And Subject ("Intellectual property") - Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
After you log in using the link above, try this sample search - Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsThis database of foreign legal articles includes a subset of articles on Private international law: industrial and intellectual property .
Law Blogs
Law Blogs
Loading ...
Search Terms
Search Terms
Also try using these search terms:
climate change
Climatic changes
Environment
Biodiversity
developing countries
developing nations
technology transfer
intellectual property protection
intellectual property
Environmental Technologies
Clean Technologies
Sustainability
Suggested Resources
Suggested Resources
Subscription Databases
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations, and selected references to secondary sources.
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reports for countries on: commercial & economic law, private international law, tort law, insurance law, labour law, intellectual property, constitutional law, contracts, social security, environmental law, civil procedure, family & succession, etc.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database on articles on every aspect of public international law. Primary documents, such as treaties, are also available for some entries.
- BNA Law Reports: World Intellectual Property Report™You will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
- Bloomberg Law - IP/Tech & Telecom Practice CenterYou will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Sample Search: "climate change" AND "developing countries" AND (except! OR exempt!)
Resources on the Free Web
Try doing a Google search but limiting it to the site:un.org
- UN-DESA Policy Brief No. 19 Technology Transfer and Climate Change: Beyond TRIPS (August 2009)This is just an example, not necessarily the most up-to-date UN document on the topic.
Adding 2016 to the site search may give you better results
