Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on Latin American perspective on International Intellectual Property
For each book, hover over the "i" button to get more information about the book.
Trade Mark Litigation - jurisdictional comparisons by Call Number: K1555 .T734 2013ISBN: 9780414027398Publication Date: 2013Includes a chapter on Brazil
Try using an advanced search using Subject Headings.
You can also combine Subject Headings with Keywords to find any books on arbitration of domain name disputes.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
- Sample Search on WorldCatYou don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
- Google BooksDo a search like:
"international intellectual property" "latin america"
or replace "latin america" with a specific country name
When you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog. - Library CatalogSample Search: Subject: Intellectual property ( International law).
Add to this search the subject: Latin America or the name of any specific country. - vLexTry using some of the same recommended search terms shown above. This will allow you to search for legal news, law journals and cases from foreign countries that discuss this topic.
Sample search.
Search for a primary and secondary sources on the topic
- Westlaw: Secondary Sources: Sample Searchadv: "trademark law" /s (cuba or brazil)
See Also:International Trademark Dilution, Chapter 6 is on Brazil.
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
- HeinOnline: Sample SearchUse the limiters on the left to further limit your results or use the search within function to add more keywords.
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for relevant terms. Always use the most closely related synonym for your term that appears in the dropdown menus. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- LegalTrac
Mostly U.S. and some Canadian scholarly legal articles.
Start typing in keywords related to your topic.
After you use the link above to log in, you can try this sample search: Subject ("intellectual property") And keyword("latin america"). - Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
After you log in using the link above, try this sample search - Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsThis database of foreign legal articles includes a subset of articles on Industrial and intellectual property .
Add as a subject or keyword the name of a specific latin american country or the term "latin america" "domain" to this subject search.
Alternatively, use the countries limiter on the left side of the page to limit your results to specific countries.
Blawgs
Blawgs
Search Terms
Search Terms
Also try using these search terms:
Latin America - subject heading
Intellectual property - subject heading
Suggested Resources
Suggested Resources
Subscription Databases
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations, and selected references to secondary sources.
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reports for countries on: commercial & economic law, private international law, tort law, insurance law, labour law, intellectual property, constitutional law, contracts, social security, environmental law, civil procedure, family & succession, etc.
- Kluwer Intellectual PropertyFirst log in using the link above, then try this Sample Search: Cuba Trademark.
Sample Search:Sample Search: Brazil Trademark.
- BNA Law Reports: World Intellectual Property Report™You will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Sample Search: (brazil OR cuba) AND trademark. - Bloomberg Law - IP/Tech & Telecom Practice CenterYou will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Sample Search: (brazil OR cuba) AND trademark.
