Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on Copyright Management Organizations
For each book, hover over the "i" button to get more information about the book.
Collective Management of Copyright and Related Rights 3e by
In the course of the last two decades, collective management organizations (CMOs) have become the nerve centres of copyright licensing in virtually every country. Their expertise and knowledge of copyright law and management have proven essential to make copyright work in the digital age. However, they have also been at the centre of debates about their efficiency, their transparency and their governance. This book, an extensively revised and updated edition of the major work on the legal status of CMOs, offers an in-depth analysis of the various operating CMO models, their rights and obligations vis-#65533;-vis both users and members, acquisition of legal authority to license, and (most important) the rights to license digital uses of protected material and build (or improve current) information systems to deal with ever more complex rights management and licensing tasks. All the chapters have been updated since the 2010 edition. New chapters on Africa, China, Central Europe and New Zealand (together with Australia, which is no longer discussed in the separate chapter on Canada) have been added. Factors considered include the following: * role of 'families' such as the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC) and the International Federation of Reproduction Rights Organizations (IFRRO); * cases where the unavailability of adequating options makes authorized use difficult or impossible taking transaction costs into account; * growing importance of extended repertoire systems (also known as extended collective licensing); * relationship among collective management, rights to remuneration, and the ways in which CMOs acquire authority to license; * transnational licensing and the possible role of multi-territorial licensing; and * threat of monopolies or regional oligopolies for the management of online music rights. Legal underpinnings covered in the course of the analysis include the 1996 WIPO Copyright Treaties, the US Digital Millennium Copyright Act, the Napster case, the Santiago Agreement, relevant EU Papers and the 2014 Copyright Directive, and work done by the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. Part I presents a number of horizontal issues that affect collective management in almost every country. Part II is divided on a geographical basis, focusing on systems representative of the principal models applied in various countries and regions. Each country specific or region-specific chapter provides a historical overview and a presentation of existing CMOs and their activities, gives financial information where available, describes how CMOs are supervised or controlled by legislation, and offers thoughts about the challenges facing CMOs in the country or region concerned. Many of these national and regional commentaries are the only such information sources available in English. Whatever the future of copyright holds, it is clear that users will continue to want access and the ability to reuse material lawfully, and authors and other rights holders will want to ensure that they can put some reasonable limits on those uses, including an ability to monetize commercially relevant uses. CMOs are sure to be critical intermediaries in this process. The second edition of this important resource, with its key insights into the changing nature of collective management, will be of immeasurable value to all concerned with shaping policy towards collective management or working with the ever more complex legal issues arising in digital age copyright matters.
Call Number: K1420.5 .C628 2016ISBN: 9041154418Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Individualism and Collectiveness in Intellectual Property Law by
Individualism and Collectiveness in Intellectual Property Law embraces fundamental, eternal and yet very contemporary elements in IP law dealt with in all parts of the world.There are certain classic values embedded in the protection of human effort and
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0857939610Publication Date: 2012-01-31
European Intellectual Property Law by
European Intellectual Property Law offers a full account of the main areas of substantive European IP law and a discussion of their wider context and effect.The amount and reach of European law, and decision-making in the field of intellectual property has grown exponentially since the 1960s, making it increasingly difficult to treat European law as an adjunct to domestic intellectual property regimes. European Intellectual Property Law responds to thisreality by presenting a clear and detailed account of each of the main areas of substantive EU intellectual property law, situated in the context of both the EU legal system and international IP law, including EU constitutional law, the law of the European Patent Convention 1973/2000, and privateinternational law. It draws selectively on examples from domestic IP regimes to illustrate substantive differences between those regimes and to demonstrate the impact of European law, and decision-making on EU Member States.This unique, thoroughly modern approach goes beyond a discussion of the provisions of European legal instruments to consider their wider context and effect. European Intellectual Property Law is the ideal guide for any student wishing to gain a full and critical understanding of the substantiveEuropean law of intellectual property.
Call Number: KJE2636 .P55 2016ISBN: 019872991XPublication Date: 2016-03-07
Try using an advanced search using Subject Headings.
You can also combine Subject Headings with Keywords to find any books on arbitration of domain name disputes.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books, manuscripts, websites, internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals, magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers, and videotapes available at libraries worldwide. Cross-search OCLC databases: ArchiveGrid, ArticleFirst, Ebooks, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and WorldCatDissertations.
- Sample Search on WorldCat: su:Copyright, International AND kw:collective managementYou don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
- Google BooksDo a search like:
collective management copyright
then add key words to find more specific countries:
collective management copyright Australia
When you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog. - Library CatalogSample Search: Subject: copyright AND Keyword: collective AND Keyword: management OR administration.
Add to this search the subject headings for the countries of interest. Eg. China - vLexTry using some of the same recommended search terms shown above. This will allow you to search for legal news, law journals and cases from foreign countries that discuss this topic.
Sample search.
Search for a primary and secondary sources on the topic
- Westlaw: Secondary Sources: Sample Searchadvanced: TI(copyright & collective & (management or administration))
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
- HeinOnline: Sample SearchUse the limiters on the left to further limit your results or use the search within function to add more keywords.
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for relevant terms. Always use the most closely related synonym for your term that appears in the dropdown menus. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- LegalTrac
Mostly U.S. and some Canadian scholarly legal articles.
Start typing in keywords related to your topic.
After you use the link above to log in, you can try this sample search: Subject (copyright law)
Search within (collective). - Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
After you log in using the link above, try this sample search - Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsThis database of foreign legal articles includes a subset of articles on Copyright.
Add as a subject or keyword collective AND (management OR administration) to this subject search.
Also, use the limiters on the left side of the page to limit your results further.
Law Blogs
Law Blogs
Loading ...
Search Terms
Search Terms
Also try using these search terms:
Copyright Collective Administration
Collective Rights Management
Collective Management Organization (CMO)
Subject Headings
Suggested Resources
Suggested Resources
Subscription Databases
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations, and selected references to secondary sources.
- Bloomberg Law - IP/Tech & Telecom Practice CenterYou will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Sample Search. - BNA Law Reports: World Intellectual Property Report™You will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
Sample Search.
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws This link opens in a new windowUse this guide to find out about collective management wrt copyright in specific countries.
See Sample Search.
