Secondary Sources
Introductory Materials on Novelty
Patent Law and Theory by Call Number: K1505 .P3745 2008ISBN: 1845424131Publication Date: 2009-03-31See Chapter by Christopher Wadlow -- The novelty and priority provision under the United States first-to-file principle : a comparative law perspective
This major Handbook provides a comprehensive research source for patent protection in three major jurisdictions: the United States, Europe and Japan.
Intellectual Property in Common Law and Civil Law by
Despite increasing worldwide harmonization of intellectual property, driven by US patent reform and numerous EU Directives, the common law and civil law traditions still exert powerful and divergent influences on certain features of national IP systems.Drawing together the views and experiences of scholars and lawyers from the United States, Europe and Asia, this book examines how different characteristics embedded in national IP systems stem from differences in the fundamental legal principles of the two traditions. It questions whether these elements are destined to remain diverged, and tries to identify common ground that might facilitate a form of harmonization.Containing the most current and up-to-date IP issues from a global perspective, this book will be a valuable resource for IP and comparative law academics, law students, policy makers, as well as lawyers and in-house counsels.
Call Number: K1401 .I55653 2013ISBN: 0857934368Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Global Issues in Patent Law by
Global Issues in Patent Law provides an approachable and engaging entry point for students of patent law and intellectual property to the world of international patents. Beginning with a discussion of current international intellectual property institutions and ending with a study of contemporary border enforcement issues, the book takes the user through the major treaties and a comparative discussion of the critical areas of patent law and practice. Topics covered include: patentable subject matter, prior art, inventive step, enablement and disclosure, infringement, remedies, and competition policy. The approach of the book and its materials would complement intellectual property law courses at the basic, intermediate, and advanced levels as well as serve as the focal casebook for a stand alone course on international patent law. For more information visit the companion site.
Call Number: K1505 .G57 2011ISBN: 0314195173Publication Date: 2010-12-16
International Patent Law by
When is international patent law cooperation and harmonization welfare-enhancing? What is the role of international institutions - WIPO and the WTO - in furthering such harmonization? This book explores these questions from a global welfarist, rationalist perspective. It grounds its analysis in innovation theory and a examination of patent law and prosecution, incorporating the uncertainty of patent law's impact on welfare at a detailed level, dynamic changes, the skewed nature of patent value and the difficulty of textually capturing patent concepts. Using tools from new institutional economics, it explores future design implications for international institutions, analyzing grounds for international cooperation as collective action problems and applying historical, political and transaction cost analyses.Academics, students and practitioners interested in international economic law, specifically in respect of patents, innovation and intellectual property, the TRIPs Agreement, the WTO and WIPO will find this book essential. It will also prove insightful for researchers whose primary background is in international relations or international political economy, but are seeking an introduction to the patent and intellectual property field.
Call Number: K1505 .S73 2011ISBN: 1849802580Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Try using an advanced search using Subject Heading combined with Keywords to find any books on novelty
- Sample Search on WorldCatYou don't even need to use the Subject Heading field, just type su: followed immediately by the Subject Heading with no space and no --
- Google BooksDo the same search and when you find a good book that gives important, relevant information on your topic, then look for it in Library Catalog.
You can add a country name to the search to find patent law from a particular country. Similarly, you can use regional indicators like Asia or Latin America, or you can use the terms global, regional or international, or comparative. - Sample Search on Library CatalogCombines
Subject: Patent Laws and legislation
Keyword novelty - vLexSample Search for novelty with patent in the document title
Try using some of the same recommended search terms shown above. This will allow you to search for legal news, law journals and cases from foreign countries that mention nonpatent incentives.
Search for a law review article on the topic
Note on HeinOnline
Where on Westlaw or Lexis you would search for the word Paris within 5 words of the term 10bis by typing Paris /5 10bis, on HeinOnline, you must type "Paris 10bis"~5
- Search in Full Text for: patent and search in title for: noveltyYou can then add in the full text field,"first to file"
Indexes
Also try searching the indexes below for relevant terms. Always use the most closely related synonym for your term that appears in the dropdown menus. (Don't worry, indexes are just another kind of database that mostly contains citations rather than full-text.)
- LegalTrac
Mostly U.S. and some Canadian scholarly legal articles.
Start typing in keywords related to your topic. In this case try typing Drugs and choose it from the dropdown menu. This will give you the most robust results and is the best way to use this type of database.Then select the subcategory that is most relevant, in this case, intellectual property.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksMostly U.S. but you may find some articles or books discussing other jurisdictions but published in a U.S. Journal.
- Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsThis database of foreign legal articles includes a subset of articles on Private international law: industrial and intellectual property .
Law Blogs
novelty patent "first to file" "first to invent"
Loading ...
Search Terms
Also try using these search terms:
novelty
first to invent
first to file
Subject Headings
Suggested Resources
Subscription Databases
- Kluwer Intellectual Property"provides information on international intellectual property law. It includes access to books, journals, and practice tools. It also is a resource for international intellectual property law news."
- BNA Law Reports: World Intellectual Property Report™You will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
