Ways to find the case
Use a secondary source to lead you to the primary source.
Try searching a legal news source like:
- BNA Law Reports: World Intellectual Property Report™You will need to log into Bloomberg Law to access this link.
You can also search for a law review article on the case. Remembering that for the most recent cases, information about the case may be gleaned from legal news and blogs, but are less likely to appear in a scholarly article.
Search through the articles for an article that provides a reference to the relevant case.
Once you have the citation to the case
Interpret the citation to figure out which international body heard the case and try:
1. Looking for a database that includes decisions from that international body.
2. Looking at the international body's website for the relevant documents.
In this case, we are looking for Permanent Court of Arbitration decisions.
- Philip Morris Asia Limited v Australia, PCA Case No 2012-12 (Official Case No) IIC 665 (2014)Permanent Court of Arbitration Case Repository
Look for the case in multiple places to see what related documents each new source provides.
Find PCA Cases Online
Free Sources
- CasesBrowse cases or search across case summaries. A full-text document search feature is provided, as well as Advanced Search form providing options to search particular document fields (ex. claimant name, respondent name, case number, etc.).
- Documents and ResourcesIncludes the PCA's own rules as well as other frameworks that parties may utilize (ex. UNCITRAL, ICSID), treaties that reference the PCA, and PCA publications.
ITALAW
- italawFree resource offering investment arbitration coverage from faculty at the University of Victoria, includes coverage of PCA cases dealing with investment law.
WorldLII
UNCTAD's Investment Policy Hub
Select the Investment Dispute Settlement Navigator > Institutions > limit to Administering institution: PCA.
Relevant Blog Posts
Legal News and Law Blogs often discuss emerging cases and may give you enough information to find the official case.
Books
Search for the case citation in:
- Google Books: pca case no. 2012-12to find any books that reference the case. Then look for the books in the Vanderbilt Library Catalog: Library Catalog Or in WorldCat.
- Library CatalogUse this to find books and articles.
Use the Subject Headings on the right to access materials on a specific topic. Log in to get the maximum number of results from your search. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)Use this link. Do not Google Worldcat!
You can find books and articles but you may only borrow print books and articles from non-VU libraries.
Recommended Books
The Foundations of International Investment Law by
International investment law is one of the fastest growing areas of international law. It has led to the signing of thousands of agreements, mostly in the form of investment contracts and bilateral investment treaties. Also, in the last two decades, there has been an exponential growth in thenumber of disputes being resolved by investment arbitration tribunals. Yet the legal principles at the basis of international investment law and arbitration remain in a state of flux. Perhaps the best illustration of this phenomenon is the wide disagreement among investment tribunals on some of thecore concepts underpinning the regime, such as investment, property, regulatory powers, scope of jurisdiction, applicable law, or the interactions with other areas of international law.The purpose of this book is to revisit these conceptual foundations in order to shed light on the practice of international investment law. It is an attempt to bridge the growing gap between the theory and the practice of this thriving area of international law. The first part of the book focuses onthe "infrastructure" of the investment regime or, more specifically, on the structural arrangements that have been developed to manage foreign investment transactions and the potential disputes arising from them. The second part of the book identifies the common conceptual bases of an array ofseemingly unconnected practical problems in order to clarify the main stakes and offer balanced solutions. The third part addresses the main sources of "regime stress" as well as the main legal mechanisms available to manage such challenges to the operation of the regime.Overall, the book offers a thorough investigation of the conflicting theoretical positions underlying international investment law, testing their worth by reference to concrete issues that have arisen in the jurisprudence. It demonstrates that many of the most important practical questions arisingin practice can be addressed by a carefully dosed resort to theory.
Call Number: K3830 .F686 2014ISBN: 9780199685387Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Case Commentary
You can look for case commentary in books, scholarly articles or in practitioner oriented databases like
- Kluwer Arbitration - Search for:"PCA Case No 2012-12"
You'll need to log in first at
Kluwer Arbitration Then you can either do the recommended search or just click through the link above.
