It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. The content is from leading distributors, producers and filmmakers such as PBS, BBC, CNN, Wall Street Journal, 60 Minutes/ CBS, A+E Networks’ HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, and CA Newsreel. In addition, many award-winning films including Academy® and Emmy® winners.
This collection documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution through to the late 1980s, and consists of documentaries, features, and newsreels reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Films deal with the Soviet Union, Vietnam, China, Korea, the GDR (German Democratic Republic), Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba.
First time users must register for an account, then search for and request access to an initial testimony. Users only need to request access to one testimony to obtain viewing rights for the entire collection. To view testimonies, users must start from a library authenticated URL (http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/eres?id=1696) and login to their personal account. Detailed instructions searching the archive can be found at http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search
Streaming video collection of interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides including Armenia, Tutsi in Rwanda, Nanjing, Guatemala, Cambodia, South Sudan, Central African Republic Conflict, and Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.