It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides articles on Jewish life, culture, history, philosophy, and religion written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. Covers from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.
This dictionary covers the history of the Jewish religion from its biblical roots to the present, the development of Judaism in the medieval Christian and Islamic worlds, its responses to the Enlightenment and modernity, the creation of new philosophies of Judaism in the wake of the Holocaust, and the establishment of the State of Israel, as well as contemporary issues such as feminism, secularism, and the ethics of war and medicine.
Led by the European Association for Jewish Culture (London), this digitization project documents Jewish culture in Europe. Materials are from Europe's museum, library and archive collections and include books, newspapers, photographs, postcards and other images, sound files of music and oral history, and moving image files.
This one-volume reference book covers all aspects of Jewish life in the United States from 1654 to present including history, religion, family life, law, politics, business, education, music and the arts, sports, entertainment, books, language, and science.
Surveys Jewish life in America beginning with Jewish settlers in 1654. Topical essays focus on a variety of themes in the American Jewish and Judaic experience including Jewish education in America, southern and western Jewry, Jewish social clubs, Jewish responses to Nazism and the Holocaust.
This book chronicles past and present American Jewish popular culture in art, film, drama, music, radio, television, comic books, the graphic novel, and more. Includes articles on film, film stars, film producers and directors, television, television stars, Hollywood moguls, Yiddish theater, Yiddish film, and theater.
The Goldring-Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
Presents a history of every congregation and significant Jewish community in the South (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia).
Primary source materials chart the Jewish Diaspora from the earliest settlements in 1654 to European arrivals in the early 20th Century, and offer insight into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population. Explores the communal & social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, and traces Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.