Research Guides: Jewish Studies Resources: Statistics / Data

United States

"Demographic and Economic Profiles of 20th-century American Jewry." Encyclopedia of American Jewish History.
"Jewish Americans in 2020" | Pew Research Center.
The 2015 Nashville and Middle Tennessee Jewish Community Study | Steinhardt Social Research Institute (SSRI) at the Cohen Center for Modern Jewish Studies, Brandeis Univ.
American Jewish Year Book | American Jewish Committee.
Full-text online archive covers 1899 to 2008. Each issue provides Jewish population statistics (ex: immigration, world Jewish population, and U.S. states and cities). Includes articles on the political & economic situation in countries and regions.
Berman Jewish Data Bank.
"The Berman Jewish DataBank @ The Jewish Federations of North America offers open access to hundreds of quantitative studies of North American Jewry."
Jewish Population Studies | Conference on Jewish Relations.
Trenton (1937), Passaic (1937), Buffalo (1938), Norwich & New London (1938), Pittsburgh (1938), Detroit (1935), Chicago (1930), Minneapolis (1936), San Francisco (1938).
Steinhardt Social Research Institute (SSRI) | Brandeis Univ.
Data on contemporary Jewry.
•American Jewish Population Project - Jewish population estimates and detailed demographic profiles of Jewish adults for the nation, states, metropolitan areas and counties. Information includes sex, age, educational attainment, and race/ethnicity.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Sec. 1: Population -> Religious Adherents
Covers mostly 1970 to present and supersedes the U.S. government version, issued annually from 1878 to 2012 and available at:http://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html
Access Note: If prompted to select an account, select Vanderbilt University.

Bank of Israel.
Data and statistics on economic activity in Israel.
Statistical Abstract of Israel | Central Bureau of Statistics, The State of Israel.
Data on population, education, health, welfare, etc., economy, environment & infrastructure, and government & local authorities.
Older statistics available in print 1955 - 2014 in the Annex
https://catalog.library.vanderbilt.edu/permalink/01VAN_INST/6ll2l/alma991043537463603276
Detailed Statistics on the Population of Israel by Ethnic and Religious Group and Urban and Rural Residence, 1950 to 2010 | U.S. Census Bureau.
Annex GOV-FICHE C 3.2:St 2/15
Israel Yearbook and Almanac.
v.1 (1944 / 1945) - v. 54 (2000), with gaps
OECD
Data and publications (policy briefs, reports, working papers, etc.) by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Israel joined the organization in 2010.

"Demography." Encyclopaedia Judaica.
Size and geographical distribution of world Jewry and population characteristics. (links to articles on migration and vital statistics)
American Jewish Year Book | American Jewish Committee.
Full-text online archive covers 1899 to 2008. Each issue provides Jewish population statistics (ex: immigration, world Jewish population, and U.S. states and cities). Includes articles on the political & economic situation in countries and regions.
Zeitschrift für Demographie und Statistik der Juden (1903- 1931) | Bureau für Statistik der Juden [Berlin, Germany].
Issues 1917, 1918, 1921, and 1922 not published.