History
- Basic Bibliography of the Holocaust | Holocaust Resource Center at Yad Vashem.Comprehensive histories of the Holocaust.
- Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust.Traces the roots of anti-Semitism beginning in early Christian Europe. Contains studies on the Holocaust which reflects the recent rise of Neo-Nazism, anti-Semitism, and xenophobia throughout the West. Includes a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography.
- Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies.The handbook is divided into five themes: enablers, protagonists, settings, representation, and after effects.
- Perpetrating the Holocaust: Leaders, Enablers, and Collaborators.Entries on nearly 150 individuals who enabled the Holocaust, directly or through collaboration. Includes 25 primary source documents, a detailed chronology, reference entries, images, excerpts from literary memoirs, and a bibliography.
- Resisting the Holocaust: Upstanders, Partisans, and Survivors.Profiles on 150 people who resisted the Nazis during the 1930s through 1945. Includes primary sources.
- USHMM Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933–1945.Details individual sites, development and operations. Includes photographs, charts, and maps, and an index to places, people, and organizations. The first three volumes are accessible online; four volumes are under construction.
- USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia.Articles, images, documents, bibliographies, personal stories, historical film footage and other resources.
- Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust.Call Number: Central REF DS135.E83 Y33 2009, ARMSTD-4TH-FL
Accompanying DVD contains wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowArticles on Jewish life, culture, history, music, philosophy, and religion covering from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Serves as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Oral & Visual Histories
- Visual History Archive (USC Shoah Foundation) This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides including Armenia, Tutsi in Rwanda, Nanjing, Guatemala, Cambodia, South Sudan, Central African Republic Conflict, and Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence.
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies | Yale Univ. Library.Collection of interviews with Holocaust witnesses and survivors that detail a wide range of experiences including liberators, resistance fighters, partisans, bystanders, and those in hiding.
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM).Artifacts, film & video, photos, oral history testimonies (7,600+ streamable hours), and victim lists.
- Simon Wiesenthal Center.Library and digital archives (artifacts, images and documents).
- Yad Vashem. The World Holocaust Remembrance Center.Resources include the Holocaust Resource Center, Video Testimony Resource Center, and the Photo Archive.
Holocaust Representations in History
Holocaust Representations in History.Survey of key and controversial Holocaust representations. Examines film, drama, literature, photography, visual art, television, graphic novels, memorials, and video games. Each chapter is focused on a critical debate or question in Holocaust history.
Literature
- Bloomsbury Companion to Holocaust Literature.Reference resource of critical material on a diverse range of topics within the literary study of Holocaust writing.
- Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature.Profiles of the lives and works (novels, memoirs, diaries, poems, plays) of the most influential first-generation authors who survived, perished, or were closely connected to the Holocaust. Includes a comprehensive bibliography of primary works and a second bibliography of critical studies of Holocaust literature.
- Holocaust Literatue (Critical Insights).Essays explore literature that came out of the Holocaust, from non-fiction accounts to fictionalized novels.
- Holocaust Literature (Magill's Choice).Identifies the most important works on the Holocaust by first- and second-generation survivors, as well as philosophers, novelists, poets, and playwrights reflecting on the Holocaust today. Reviews of the classics of Holocaust literature including histories, biographies, memoirs, diaries, testimonials, eyewitness accounts, philosophy, social criticism, novels, short fiction, poetry, and plays.
- Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Works.Call Number: Divinity Judaica REF PN56.H55 H656 2003
Bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama. - The Palgrave Handbook of Holocaust Literature and CultureExamines survivor writing (second and third generation) and genres, memoirs, poetry, novels, graphic narratives, films, video-testimonies, and other forms of literary and cultural expression.
Film / Theater
- Historical Dictionary of Holocaust Cinema.Includes diaries, personal accounts, novels, screenplays, cinema and the Holocaust, and internet sites.
- Holocaust Cinema Complete: a History and Analysis of 400 Films.Comprehensive guide to hundreds of films and made-for-television movies.
Research Organizations
- Yad Vashem.The World Holocaust Remembrance Center.
