Research Guides: Jewish Studies Resources: Sports

Article Databases

RAMBI (Index of Articles on Jewish Studies).
Selective bibliography of journal articles and articles from collective works (edited volumes and conference proceedings, etc.) covering all aspects of Jewish Studies.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book titles, book reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1910 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journal articles in full-text. Use Advanced Search to narrow by discipline, item type, and/or publication title.

Use the following links to find books on your sports topic in the library catalog.

"American Jews in Sports" (Encyclopedia of American Jewish History).
"Sports" (Encyclopedia Judaica).
Overview of Jews in sports throughout history, including participation in individual sports. Includes essays on individual athletes.
"Sports." Jewish Women: a Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia | Jewish Women's Archive.
Sports in the United States and other countries, individual athletes, coaches and management, Jewish women who have won Olympic medals, and more.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
In addition to biographical profiles, this database provides citations to interviews, magazine and journal articles, books, and book reviews. Covers from antiquity to the present.

Berlin 36.
DVD 4737, Central Library (4th Floor)
Based on the life of Gretel Bergmann, a German-Jewish high jumper. Securing the 1936 Summer Olympics for Berlin, Germany was faced with a boycott due to Hitler's antisemitic policies. Bergmann was recruited to compete but the Nazis conspired against her for ideological reasons.
Chariots of Fire.
DVD 5635, Central Library (4th Floor)
Two young British sprinters on the same team vie to win gold at the Paris 1924 Olympics to demonstrate to the world the worth of their deeply held - and opposing - convictions. Scotsman Eric Liddell competes to prove the superiority of his Christian faith, while Jewish Englishman Harold Abrahams wants to show that Jews are not an inferior people, and a friendship builds between the two athletes.