Research Guides: Jewish Studies Resources: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives.
Historical newspapers including the following collections:
• African American Newspapers
• American County Histories
• The Civil War Collection
• Reconstruction of Southern States
• South Carolina Newspapers
• The Virginia Gazette
Archives Unbound.
Documents cover a broad range of topics. Includes the following collections:
• Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
• Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
• Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945
• German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
• Holocaust and Concentration Camp Trials
• Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration, 1938-1947
• The Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
• Jewish Underground Resistance
• The Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
• Nuremberg Laws and Nazi Annulment of German Jewish Nationality
• Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950
• Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
• Testaments to the Holocaust
• U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
• "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Berman Jewish Policy Archive (BJPA) @ Stanford.
Collection of literature, research and analysis on Jewish life from 1900 to present. Covers communities, culture, identity, inter-group relations, politics, religion, social issues, and more.
Access to Jewish Survey Question Bank, an online database of survey questions. Surveys cover culture & identity, group relations, communities, politics, and more.
History Vault.
Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections including:
• Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjorden, 1940-1948
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle - NAACP Papers (1909 - 1972): Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and The NAACP's Major Campaigns; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, and Organizational Records and Personal Papers.
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War - Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries, 1700-1896; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915: Plantations Records.

Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
Materials on the Jewish Diaspora from the earliest settlements in 1654 to European arrivals in the early 20th Century, and offer insight into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population. Explores the communal & social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, and traces Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
Coverage: 17th - 20th century.

Political Extremism and Radicalism.
Manuscripts (correspondence, ephemera, pamphlets & papers, newspaper clippings), monographs, periodicals and multimedia.
The archives are made up of the following collections.
• Far Right Groups in America - particular focus on white supremacist and nationalist groups in the United States
• Far Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the 20 C.
• Global Communist and Socialist Movements - primarily early 20th C. dealing with the evolution of communism, socialism, and ideologies (e.g. Marxism-Leninism, Maoism, and Trotskyism)