Major Epigraphy Publications @ Vanderbilt
Blogs & Discussion Forums
Epigraphy
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new windowNewly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions, summary of new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions.
- Inscriptiones Graecae -The Digital Scholarly Edition currently offers access to the text, the translations (German and English), and the TEI (Epidoc) encoded sources of eleven volumes of the Inscriptiones Graecae. It starts with volume IG IX 1², 4, originally published as print in 2001. More volumes will be added continuously.
- Attic Inscriptions OnlineA website designed to make available the inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica in English translation. The translations include, as a minimum, an indication of the text translated, the name of the translator and key references. Further information about the inscriptions is being added gradually.
- CIL Open AccessThis digitized version of the CIL will initially comprise of the more than 50 parts (of vols. I-XVI + auctaria and of v. I (edition altera)) published before 1940. Available funding covers the digitization of the volumes with an imperfect OCR searching capability. The goal is to eventually create a keyword searchable database to contain also future volumes of the CIL as they fall outside of copyright restrictions and to eventually do the same for the Inscriptiones Graecae.
- Corpus Inscriptionum LatinarumThe database Archivum Corporis Electronicum allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research centre, sorted by inscription-number.
- Claros: Concordance of Greek InscriptionsA concordance of published Greek inscriptions. Useful for finding bibliography in conjunction with SEG (SEG is included in this database). "Edition 1" will search an earlier edition and display later publications; searching an inscription as "Edition 2" will provide earlier publication.
- EAGLE PortalEAGLE, The Europeana network of Ancient Greek and Latin Epigraphy is a best-practice network co-funded by the European Commission, under its Information and Communication Technologies Policy Support Programme. EAGLE will provide a single user-friendly portal to the inscriptions of the Ancient World, a massive resource for both the curious and for the scholarly.
Search across multiple collections, including:
Epigraphic Database Bari
Epigraphic Database Roma
Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg
Hispania Epigraphica - Epigraphische Datenbank HeidelbergSearchable database of Latin inscriptions and Greek inscriptions of the Roman period.
- Epigraphic Landscape of AthensThe ELA Database is an open-access online resource aimed at providing to scholars a new research tool for a topographical study of the Athenian public inscriptions as communication media in the frame of The Epigraphic Landscape of Athens project.
- Greek & Latin Inscriptions: Digital SqueezesGreek and Latin Inscriptions is a collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia. The squeezes were contributed by the Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University, whose purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information about the ancient and mediaeval world.
- Hispania EpigraphicaOnline database of Roman inscriptions from the Iberian Peninsula.
- The Inscriptions of Roman TripolitaniaThe first publication of Inscriptions of Roman Tripolitania, which appeared in 1952, has long been out of print. Produced in post-war conditions, it only included illustrations of a few inscriptions, although many of them had been photographed; and it only offered limited geographic information.
- Searchable Greek Inscriptions This link opens in a new windowCollection of ancient Greek inscriptions. Can be used in tandem with PHI Workplace Version 10.
- U.S. Epigraphy ProjectThe goal of the U.S. Epigraphy Project is to gather and distribute information about ancient (mainly but not only) Greek and Latin inscriptions preserved in the United States of America.
Papyrology
- papyri.infoOffers links to papyrological resources and a customized search engine (called the Papyrological Navigator) capable of retrieving information from multiple related sites. The Papyrological Navigator currently retrieves and displays information from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS), the Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP) and the Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis (HGV).
- Papyrology Home PageLinks to sites dealing with papyri.
- POxy: Oxyrhynchus OnlineA guide and online database for the Oxyrhynchus Papyri.
- Organa PapyrologicaThis site unites all the digital tools that are taken care of in Leipzig. Among them is the Papyrus Portal, which searches the digitized papyrological databases in Germany and in its neighbouring countries and displays the results in a homogeneous way.
- TrismegistosAn interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources
dealing with Egypt and the Nile valley between roughly 800 BC and AD 800
currently expanding its geographical scope to the Ancient World in general
