Classical and Mediterranean Studies Resources: Image Resources

The Vanderbilt University Visual Resources Center resides in the History of Art department and is your sources for finding and properly using high-quality images resources for your papers, presentations, and projects.

Arachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. This combines an ongoing process of digitizing traditional documentation (stored on media which are both threatened by decay and largely unexplored) with the production of new digital object and graphic data.
Create a free user account to access the database

A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece).

An amazing resource for the study of Classical Art, especially pottery. A rich collection of images, bibliographies, timelines, short essays and an online dictionary.

Digitization of text and plates from all out-of-print volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. Online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.

Fabulous source of images of archaeological sites. Look for images with a Creative Commons License. See Flickr's Creative Commons licensing information for a detailed explanation of what you can and can't do with Creative Commons licensed photos.

Contains digitised historic photographic images from all over the world dating from the late nineteenth century onwards. HEIR’s core images come from lantern slide and glass plate negatives held in college, library, museum and departmental collections within the University of Oxford. New resources are being added all the time, including collections from outside the University.

IMAGO was conceived in 2010 to commemorate the Roman Society's centenary. It is intended to be used by students, teachers, lecturers and everyone interested in the archaeology, history and material culture of ancient Rome. Photos are donated and available to use and share for educational and research purposes only, and downloadable images can be quickly saved or copied into presentation software such as PowerPoint.

The Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, aims to provide high resolution, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication. These images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great (i.e., from about 300 BC) through, the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labelled jointly in both Arabic and English. We will also be publishing related material, both online and on paper, in English and Arabic.

A catalogue of archaeological sites viewable in Quicktime.

The OAID was established in June 2015 by Tim Clayden (Wolfson College, Oxford) with support from the Lorne Thyssen Research Fund for Ancient World Topics. Its initial aim was to preserve and make available to as wide an audience and user group as possible images of archaeological sites recorded on slide film. The concern being that as the slide films age and decay the quality of the images deteriorates. In many cases these images are a unique record of the sites at a particular time and once the slide is lost, so too is the image and the information it contains. More recent events in Iraq and Syria have urged a more pressing need to record and preserve the record of some archaeological sites. For that reason the project has expanded to include images in whatever format they are available.

Contains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.

Collection of images and texts that document the various interpretations and perceptions of the monuments of Pompeii from the date of its discovery in 1748 to the beginning of the 19th century.

Site is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome.

The images in the VRoma Archive are freely available for all non-commercial use on the web.

Contains digitised images from the Institute's Photographic Collection and Library. The material for which the Warburg Institute holds the copyrights is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial 3.0 Unported License.