Available Online
**A large number of ebooks are also available through the Library Catalog.
- Basilica OnlineBasilica Online is a fully-searchable online edition of the 17 volumes of the Basilica text and its scholia, as edited between 1945 and 1988 by H.J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal. The Basilica is the single-most important source for Byzantine law throughout the period of the Byzantine empire, and is a major source for Byzantine studies more broadly.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookThe largest Internet repository of ancient texts and commentary.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
Revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. English translations of the Greek fragments, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
- The Latin LibraryCollection of latin texts including works by Caesar, Horace, Ovid, and Virgil
- Digital Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (DFHG)A project directed by Monica Berti at the Alexander von Humboldt Chair of Digital Humanities at the University of Leipzig for producing the digital version of the five volumes of the Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (FHG) edited by Karl Müller in the 19th century.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowGreek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Latin, Greek, and English texts.
- The Ovid Collection: The MetamorphosesCollection of Metamorphoses resources including Latin texts, translations, and images.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and book on philosophy, political sciences, archaeology, and classical studies.
Only selected books and article are available for classical studies and archaeology. Filter your results by Availability to access VU content. - Past Masters This link opens in a new windowScholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
Available Online
- Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL)An initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.
- Bibliotheca Palatina - DigitalOne of the consequences of the Thirty Years' War was that the most important collection of books in the 17th century Holy Roman Empire, the Bibliotheca Palatina, was divided between two principal locations: Heidelberg and the Vatican. Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries'.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum: CVA OnlineDigitization of text and plates from all out-of-print volumes of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum. Online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.
- CEFAEL Digital Library (French School at Athens)Full text of Bulletin de Correspondance Hellenique, BCH Supplements, and most volumes in series published by the French School at Athens (including the Fouilles de Delphes, Exploration archéologique de Délos, and Etudes Thasiennes).
- The Digital Cicognara LibraryAn open-access collection of the early literature of the arts.
The Digital Cicognara Library is an international initiative to recreate in digital form the remarkable private book collection of Count Leopoldo Cicognara (1767–1834). Though assembled in the Romantic era, Cicognara’s collection of some five thousand early imprints still comprises the foundational literature of art and archaeology. Cicognara’s famous, two-volume inventory of his library, the Catalogo ragionato dei libri d’arte e d’antichità, published in 1821 and often reprinted, remains an essential tool for scholars and bibliophiles.
- ETANA This link opens in a new windowAncient Near Eastern resources, including archaeological excavation reports, ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain.
- The Chicago HomerA multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.
- A Digital Corpus for Graeco-Arabic StudiesThe Digital Corpus assembles a wide range Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts. It also includes a number of Arabic commentaries and important secondary sources. The texts in the corpus can be consulted individually or side by side with their translation. The majority of texts can also be downloaded for further analysis.
- Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
- Propylaeum eBooksPropylaeum eBooks is the Open Access publication platform by Propylaeum for scientific ebooks on Classical Studies. The service is free of charge and aimed at academics from all over the world.
