Classical and Mediterranean Studies Resources: Online Resources

An initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to a broad range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.

The iDAI.world is a digital research environment based on tools and repositories that enable researchers to collect, analyze, visualize, publish and store research data and creative output. It supports research and scholarly communication in archaeology and related academic fields with digital tools for documentation, normative data and analysis tools. Systems for digital publication and long-term archiving complete the spectrum. Multilingualism and worldwide access are guiding principles of iDAI.world.

Contains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.

Digital collections from the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. Collections include the Agora and Corinth Excavations, the Archives, and Gennadius Library.

Resource coverage includes Prehistoric Art, Ancient Near East, Egyptian Art, Greek Art, Roman Art, and Art of Late Antiquity.

Includes photographs, gazetteer, original texts, and secondary works.

Includes online projects related to Classical Studies.

An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric studies, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.

Bibliography includes primary sources in translation, secondary sources, and websites.

The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written by Carlos Parada, author of the book Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology.

Guide to European and US books and websites.

This site provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law.

Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.

The aim of the AMAR project is to digitize 500 archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf). This will include both out-of-copyright as well as in-copyright and in-print materials. This online collection is intended to provide basic sources of information to our colleagues in Iraq, and also other archaeologists working in the Middle East.

Functioning as an independent research facility, the project involves edition, translation, commentary and historical contextualisation of Galen’s works. The edition series of the CMG and CML, which, as reference editions in the field of ancient medicine, have set a new standard for critical editions of ancient technical literature, continue to exist and will be issued in digital form to meet the needs of a broad readership not necessarily trained in philology.

The research programme addresses the fundamentals of the Roman imperial economy and analyses all major economic activities (including agriculture, trade, commerce, and extraction), utilising quantifiable bodies of archaeological and documentary evidence and placing them in the broader structural context of regional variation, distribution, size and nature of markets, supply and demand. The large amounts of data that are studied during the project, which mostly already have been published in some form or another, are stored and organized in a large database, which is currently being made accessible online to the wider scholarly community through this website.

The primary objective of the project is to facilitate prosopographical research into the elite of the Roman Republic, its structure, scale and changes in composition over time. To that end a comprehensive, searchable database of all known members of the upper strata Roman society has been established, which brings together information about individual careers, office holdings, personal status, life dates and family relationships. The aim has not been to create an entire new prosopography of the Roman Republic from scratch but instead to build on the work of previous scholars and translate their achievements into a digital, online format that makes the extensive, and in many respects unwieldy, material more easily available to academics as well as to the general public.

‘The Legal and Social Status of Extramarital Children in the Roman Empire Up to the Reign of Constantine the Great” is a three-year project, which will investigate papyrological, epigraphic and jurisprudential evidence concerning illegitimate children, dated from Augustus to Constantine. Our dataset shall fasciliate examining frequency of occurance and distribution of the above-mentioned attestations in time and space. The data used in our research will be collected and arranged into a form of a searchable database comprising individuals from all over the Roman Empire who are directly or indirectly described as illegitimate. Each person has his or her own record containing name, terms used to characterized him or her, attestations, role in particular document, occupation, provenance, date, status civitatis, sex and the names of the mother, father, siblings and his or her children.