Guide to Classical Studies
Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Call Number: Central Library Z7016 .J4 2006ISBN: 1591581192A second copy is available in the Central Library Reference Collection, 4th floor call no. Z7016 .J4 2006
Available Online!
Why Should I Start With These Resources?
Good question -- here are a few reasons:
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key players in a given area
- Locate terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or expand) your topic
- Locate a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Online Resources
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (current edition)'The Oxford Classical Dictionary' is the ultimate reference on the classical world. It contains over 6000 articles, including full-text contributions with multimedia.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeThis multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
- The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD), 4th ed.The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureMost current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. Includes some images.
- New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowClick on Classical Studies under subject for a selection of Classical Studies related reference sources from Oxford University Press.
- Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window
Revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. English translations of the Greek fragments, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Histories covering American, British, economic, regional, and general history, language and linguistics, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, etc. See The Cambridge Ancient History.
- The Encyclopedia of Ancient HistoryA comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship on the entire ancient Mediterranean world.
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL)The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
- The Homer EncyclopediaThis Encyclopedia represents the first comprehensive reference to assemble definitive scholarship on the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present into one collection.
- The Virgil EncyclopediaThe Virgil Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive reference volume to be published in English on Publius Vergilius Maro, the classical Roman poet whose works and thoughts have been at the center of Western literary, cultural, artistic, and pedagogical traditions for more than two millennia.
- UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology (UEE): Open VersionEgyptology has as its object of study the history, practices, and conceptual categories of a culture that was remarkably prolific in terms of written texts, art, architecture, and other forms of material culture. The knowledge of Egyptologists, archaeologists, linguists, geologists, and all other professionals who are involved in research related to Ancient Egypt reflect the interdisciplinary approach that is needed to make sense of such a wealth of information. The peer-reviewed articles of the UEE are written by the world's leading scholars.
Print Resources
- Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Central LIbrary, Reference 4th-flr: DE5 .N48413 2002
An expansive encyclopedia of the ancient world. Presents the current state of traditional and new areas of research and brings together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. A revised edition of Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, see below.
- Paulys Real-Encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: DE5 .P33
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
Central Library, Reference 4th-flr: NX650 .M9 L494
The LIMC tries to present what we know of the iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology as well as of the neighbouring Mediterranean cultures. Each of the illustrated figures of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology is discussed in alphabetic order, usually in an individual article of a uniform structure.
- Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA)
Central Library, Oversize 3rd-flr: BL727 .T44 2004
- Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Central Library, Reference 6th-flr: ATLAS G1033 .B3 2000
In 99 full-color maps, the atlas recreates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa
- Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature, 2nd ed.
Central Library, Reference 6th-flr Payne: Z7016 .J4 2006
