Getting Fulltext - Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Dealing with Abbreviations
Journal names are often abbreviated in bibliographies, and deciphering them can be quite a chore.
Below is an online abbreviation lists from the American Journal of Archaeology as well as a more comprehensive print resource in our reference collection.
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related DisciplinesCall Number: Central Reference 6th-flr Payne: PA99 .W44 2003ISBN: 0313321418
Finding Scholarly Articles
The following is a selection of databases available for Classical Studies. Click on the More Database Options below for additional databases in Classical Studies and other disciplines.
- Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
lndex for research in Classics. Entries cover articles, books, book reviews, Festschrifte, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowIndex of material on all areas of Mediterranean and and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era. Citations for books, book reviews, chapters, articles, and festschriften.
- Gnomon Bibliographic DatabaseOnline supplement to Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank: indexes books, book articles, and some journals, 1997 onwards.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new windowTables of contents of classics, near eastern studies, and religion journals.
- Zenon DAIPart union catlog and part index; Zenon contains the holdings of the 9 libraries of the German Archaeological Institute. It contains journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and Festschriften in addition to books.
- More Database OptionsFor additional database options visit the Databases A-Z page.
