Research Guides: Classical and Mediterranean Studies Resources: Greek & Latin Language & Literature Resources

Online Language & Literature Resources

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
User login is required. Click "register" link in upper right.
Project of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®), a research center located at the University of California, Irvine. The project's goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era

Access Note: Personal user account is required for search. Click "register" link in upper right if account is needed. Select the HELP links on the main database Web page if you are unsure which input and Greek display option you should choose.
For assistance with using Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, please consult the online help.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum

Newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. Complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions, summary of new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 C.E.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)

All editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
Library of Latin Texts - Series A & B

Series A includes literature from antiquity, patristic authors, Middle Ages, and neo-Latin literature. Series B includes Latin texts of all genres and all periods: medical and veterinary texts from Late Antiquity, from east-central European historians, east-central European authors, and works from authors of the Italian and Northern renaissances.
Loeb Classical Library
Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Latin, Greek, and English texts.
Jacoby Online

Revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker. English translations of the Greek fragments, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.

Documenta Catholica Omnia
Collection of Catholic Church documents, including Migne's Patrologiae cursus completus, Series Latina and Patrologiae cursus completus, Series Graeca; papal bullae, encyclicals, and other writings

Patrologiae Graeca

Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Texts are interlaced, with columns of Greek and Latin.

Coverage: -1439.
Classical Latin Texts
Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, and some texts selected from later antiquity from the Packard Humanities Institute (PHI).

Canon of Latin Authors: http://latin.packhum.org/canon

Online Language & Literature Resources

Dickinson College Commentaries
DCC publishes scholarly commentaries on classical texts intended to provide an effective reading and learning experience for classicists at all levels of experience. DCC commentaries are peer-reviewed, citable scholarly resources, licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Digital Statius: The Achilleid
This site is devoted to produce a full open access critical edition of the Achilleid. When complete, in addition to a new critical text the site will contain translations, images of the largest possible number of manuscripts and links to all the manuscripts that are available online elsewhere, and further links to major online, open access research tools in the field of Classics.
Index Thomisticus Treebank Project
The Index Thomisticus Treebank project is hosted at CIRCSE research centre of the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (Milan, Italy). The project includes a number of language resources for Latin, namely: the Index Thomisticus Treebank (Medieval Latin), a semantically annotated portion of the Latin Dependency Treebank (Classical Latin) and two valency lexica (IT-VaLex and Latin VALLEX). The project is partly funded by the Italian Ministry of Education, University and Research (MIUR), FIR-2013 "Developing and Integrating Advanced Language Resources for Latin" (ID: RBFR13EWQN).
A Digital Corpus for Graeco-Arabic Studies
The Digital Corpus assembles a wide range Greek texts and their Arabic counterparts. It also includes a number of Arabic commentaries and important secondary sources. The texts in the corpus can be consulted individually or side by side with their translation. The majority of texts can also be downloaded for further analysis.

more... less...

Between the 8th and 10th centuries CE, hundreds of Greek philosophical, medical and scientific works were translated into Arabic. These translations helped shape the development of philosophy and science in the Islamic world. Through later Latin translations, they also exerted some influence in the Latin West.
Most importantly, Arabic translations were crucial for preserving, transmitting and extending ancient Greek thought: many Greek texts were lost in the intervening centuries and are now only extant in Arabic translation. The Arabic translators also had access to manuscripts that were often several centuries older and potentially closer to the Greek originals than those available to editors of ancient Greek texts today.
The Arabic translators’ understanding of their Greek sources was informed by their historical, cultural, religious and linguistic background. Their reading of these texts offers a new perspective on the ancient world that has the potential to enhance our own understanding.
The Homer Multitext
The Homer Multitext seeks to present the textual transmission of the Homeric Iliad and Odyssey in a historical framework. Such a framework is needed to account for the full reality of a complex medium of oral performance that underwent many changes over a long period of time. These changes, as reflected in the many texts of Homer, need to be understood in their many different historical contexts. The Homer Multitext provides ways to view these contexts both synchronically and diachronically.
Perseus Digital Library
Contains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
The Tesserae Project: Intertextual Phrase Matching
The Tesserae project aims to provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels. In a basic search, selected works of Latin authors can be compared. Phrases from the texts which match in at least two of six relatively unfrequent words are grouped together for comparison, with links to their original context.
Enigma: Unpuzzling difficult Latin readings in medieval manuscripts
Enigma helps scholars to decipher Latin words which are difficult to read in medieval manuscripts. It is sometimes impossible to decipher all the letters in a word, for various reasons (difficult palaeography, unclear writing, damage to the document, etc.) If you type the letters you can read and add wildcards, Enigma will list the possible Latin forms, drawing from its database of more than 400 000 forms.
Nota bene: Enigma does NOT solve abbreviations.