Skip to Main Content

Children's and Young Adult Book Awards: Stonewall Book Award

Stonewall Book Award Criteria

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

 In 2010 the Stonewall Book Awards was expanded to add a Children and Young Adult Literature Award.  In 2012, the Children's and Young Adult Literature Award was renamed the Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award in honor of the couple's gift to the endowment.

Past Winner and Honor Books

2022 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's and Young Adult Winners

2022 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Award Titles

2022 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Honor Titles

2021 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's and Young Adult Winner and Honor Books

2021 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Award Title

2021 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Honor Titles