Skip to Main Content

Children's and Young Adult Book Awards: Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal.  Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006.The award is named for the world-renowned children’s author, Theodor Geisel. "A person’s a person no matter how small," Theodor Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, would say. "Children want the same things we want: to laugh, to be challenged, to be entertained and delighted." Brilliant, playful, and always respectful of children, Dr. Seuss charmed his way into the consciousness of four generations of youngsters and parents. In the process, he helped them to read.

Past Winner and Honor Books

2022 Geisel Award Winner and Honor Books

2022 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Title

2022 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Titles

2021 Geisel Award Winner and Honor Books

2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Title

2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Titles