Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Book Awards: John Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal Criteria

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


Past Winner and Honor Books

2022 Newbery Winner and Honor Books

2022 John Newbery Award Title

2022 John Newbery Honor Titles

2021 Newbery Winner and Honor Books

2021 John Newbery Award Title

2021 John Newbery Honor Titles