Research Guides: Latin American Studies Resources: Newspaper Collections

Digital Newspaper Collections

World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes historical newspapers from North America, Latin America, and the Caribbean. from 1800-1920s, Note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.
Access Note: Vanderbilt and CRL member institutions. Coverage: 18th - 20th centuries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Can search all papers from the Caribbean islands or singly. Also Includes French, Spanish and Dutch islands. Note list of titles and number of issues included since a number are incomplete.
Brazilian Digital Newspapers and Periodicals
Important Brazilian newspapers and journals held in the Biblioteca Nacional (Rio), particularly from the 19th and 20th centuries are full text searchable.
Hemeroteca Digital Histórica (Colombia)
Digitized Colombian serial publications from 1780-1920.
Hemeroteca Nacional de México
Use the busqueda avanzada to search Mexican newspapers by date and keyword.
Burney Collection Newspapers (17th-18th century collection)/
Contains newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
Accessible Archives
Full text access to numerous titles, including The Charleston Mercury, Chester & Delaware Federalist, The Christian Recorder, The Civil War: a Newspaper Perspective, The Colored American, Delaware County American, Delaware County Republican, Frederick Douglass Paper, Douglass Monthly, Freedom's Journal, The New York Herald, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Packet, Provincial Freeman, Richmond Enquirer, The Upland Union, Village Record, and the Weekly Advocate.

African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
This database of eight African-American Newspapers provides information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and reports on major events and issues of the day. Newspapers are:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902), The Colored American (1837–1841), Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863) , Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829), The National Era (1847–1860), The North Star (1847–1851), Provincial Freeman (1854–1857), Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)

Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
From Marist College, a "Library Pathfinder" listing of more than 65 Historical African American Newspapers available online. Most entries are freely available. All regions of the country are included. Dates covered are "Antebellum and Civil War Era, 1800-1865" to "20th and 21st Centuries".
19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers)
A full-text searchable, facsimile-image database of 200 newspapers, chronicling 19th-century American culture, daily life and events.
Atlanta Historic Newspapers
Online access to fourteen newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922.
New York Times (1851-2009)
Niles National Register (Baltimore) 1811-1849
Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800)
Published in Philadelphia, 1728-1800. Provides a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods. Includes articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements as well as full-text of important writings including the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paine's Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc.
Times Digital Archive (London Times)
Provides full images of the pages of The Times (London) from 1785-2008. The database includes advertising, book reviews, letters to the editor, and obituaries as well as news articles.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Covers Mexican newspapers from 1827-1929.

Microfilm Newspaper Collections

We have a large collection of newspapers in microfilm format. The shortcoming of using these is: NO INDEXING. The list is alphabetical by state, followed by alphabetical by country. Click on the link below for title, dates of coverage, and location information.

Newspapers on Microform

Colombian Newspapers
Contents note indicates papers included in microfilms. Includes some papers from Venezuela etc. as part of Nueva Granada.
Colombian Newspapers 2
See contents listing for papers included in these microfilms.
Latin American Newspapers in the Southeast