Film Resources
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles in the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to date. Includes film archives and documentation.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowincludes journals and books on film criticism.
- Classic Mexican Cinema Online This link opens in a new windowFilm periodicals from the late 1890s to the “Golden Age” (1930s to 1960). It also includes primary sources such as Mexican cultural journals of the era (e.g., El mundo ilustrado for 1902-1910) and scrapbooks of film reviews, movie stills, programs and advertisements from the archives of Filmoteca in Mexico (UNAM). Covers material relating to film and media studies, Latin American Studies, music, and Mexican cultural studies.
- Cinema and Media Arts Research GuideCinema and Media Arts at Vanderbilt.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) - CinemaIncludes a list of regional resources, educational and distribution resources, and film festivals. LANIC Cinema also lists resources by country.
- Portal del cine y el audiovisual latinoamericano y caribeñoContains a variety of information about Latin American and Caribbean film, from legislation to festivals to the latest news. Created and maintained by the Agencia Española de Cooperación Internacional para el Desarrollo.
- Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet: A Guide to Web ResourcesJesús Alonso-Regalado, from the University of Albany, lists various online resources in his guide for videos and Latin American TV that are freely available online.
Spanish Language Films
- Platino Educa This link opens in a new windowSpanish and Ibero-American movies, covering themes across the environment, social sciences, language and literature, arts, and social justice.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service for documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases. Films under a current license agreement are available for immediate viewing. Other films may require a request through the Kanopy site. Viewing films in a group forum is permitted as long as the viewing is by Vanderbilt authorized viewers only (current faculty, staff, or students) and it is not for commercial benefit (i.e. no admission costs are charged and no profit is made from the screening).
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films.
- CinenacionalEl sitio de cine argentino más completo del mundo
- CinépataIndependent short feature films and documentaries, based in Santiago, Chile
- Videoteca de LiteraturaVideo collection with a literary focus (interviews, theater, poetry).
Print and E-book Film Resources
Brazilian National Cinema by Call Number: Central PN1993.5 .B6 S45 2007ISBN: 9780415338158Publication Date: 2007-10-19Lisa Shaw and Stephanie Dennison apply recent theories on stardom, particularly relating to issues of ethnicity, race and gender, to both well-known Brazilian performers and lesser known icons. This timely addition to the National Cinemasseries provides a comprehensive overview of the relationship between Brazilian cinema and issues of national and cultural identity.
The New Brazilian Cinema by ISBN: 9781860648786Publication Date: 2003-10-24Lucia Nagib here presents the first comprehensive critical survey of Brazilian film production since the mid-1990s, which has become known as the "Renaissance of Brazilian cinema". Besides reflecting on the conditions that made possible this recent boom, this book elaborates on the new aesthetic tendencies of recent productions, as well as their relationships to earlier traditions of Brazilian cinema. Internationally acclaimed films are analyzed alongside daringly experimental works.- Brazilian Narrative Traditions in a Comparative Text byCall Number: Central PQ9597 .F58 2005ISBN: 0873525876Publication Date: 2005-01-01In the first volume of the MLA series World Literatures Reimagined, Vanderbilt's Earl E. Fitz examines the complex relation between Brazil and the United States: the colonial similarities and differences; the shared issues of slavery and racism; the mutual influences; and the political, economic, and cultural interactions, sometimes troubling, between the two nations.
- The Film Industry in Brazil byCall Number: Central PN1993.5 .B6 J624 1987ISBN: 0822935384Publication Date: 1987-04-01
