Primary Resources
- Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, 1833-1969. Documents include dispatches, telegrams, investigative reports and treaties. Revolutions, political movements, railway development, the Panama Canal, the slave trade, immigration, the Vargas dictatorship in Brazil, indigenous relations.
- EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)English and foreign-language titles printed inthe UK and works fromthe Americas from 1701-1800.
- Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowDigital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowPamphlets about Brazil, focused on history, politics and literature (for example: travel, immigration, public health).
- Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary SourcesSelected links to Latin American digital projects and collections in US libraries. Click on bottom right icon to see listings by country and subject.
- New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the early 17th centuryAvailable at the Central Library, F1411 .I18 1984 Armistead 4th floor.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new windowRecords from slaving expeditions from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. Information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Statistical tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.
- U. S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1979) - Readex This link opens in a new windowHouse and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. For political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, international relations, travel, commerce, industrial development, etc.
- World Scholar - Latin America & the CaribbeanContains digital versions of historical documentary collections (e.g., Correspondence and Record Cards of the Military Intelligence Division Relating to General, Political, and Military Conditions in Central America, 1918-1941; Colección de documentos inéditos relativos al descubrimiento, conquista y organización de las antiguas posesiones españolas de America y Oceania;Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492–1825; Selections from Sabin Americana: 1500–1926; Selections from 19th Century newspapers)
- Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: “Casa y Cultura†This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials from the archive of the Casa de las Américas library in Habana. Documents the cultural and literary -and sometimes political - activities from 1959 forward through its press clippings, cultural magazines, etc.
- Colonial America This link opens in a new windowManuscript material from the Colonial Office files at the UK National Archives that documents all aspects of life in colonial America. Includes original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.
- Documents of Latin American and Latino ArtOver 8,000 original documents relating to Latinx and Latin American art.
- CIA Crest ArchiveCIA archive (e.g., intelligence reports, JPRS) dating back to the beginning of the Cold War era.
- *Digital National Security ArchiveDeclassified documents relating to US foreign relations from World War II to present. Can select a DSNA collection (Guatemala, Cuban missile crisis, Argentina, Mexico-US counternarcotics, CIA covert operations).
- National Security ArchiveGeorge Washington University site of declassified documents from World War II to present organized into electronic briefing books.
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) (now called U.S. Declassified Documents Online) This link opens in a new windowDeclassified government documents covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Cabinet meeting minutes, correspondence, diary entries, intelligence reports, political analyses and technical studies from the White House, State Department, National Security Agency, FBI, and CIA.
- History Vault This link opens in a new windowDigitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.
• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies
• Workers and Labor Unions
- Latin American Materials Projects--LAMPCollections of newspapers and other primary sources from Latin America available for borrowing. Some digitized materials.
- Center for Research LibrariesCatalogue of foreign newspapers, enthnic newspapers, and other primary sources.
- Princeton's Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraA steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
- O Governo dos Outros (Portuguese Empire)Portuguese Empire 1496-1961 relating largely to laws and legislation, from the royal ordinances forward.
- Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary SourcesA growing list of digital collections in libraries and archives. Arranged by subject and country.
- LACLI: Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, Iberian Free ResourcesDigitized openly accessible collections including many primary sources.
- PARES: Portal de Archivos EspañolesPrimary documents from the Archivo General de Indias and other Spanish archives.
- Wiley Digital ArchivesEnvironmental archives from UK Royal Botanic Garden, National Archives UK, etc.
Latin American Travelogues
The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. The works selected are linked to critical essays produced by undergraduate students who are enrolled in Prof. Green's courses on Latin American history. This site will serve as a free-access visual and research tool for students and scholars alike.
PARES - Portal de Archivos Españoles
Contains digital documents from a variety of archives in Spain. Maintained by the Spanish government.
Finding Primary Sources on Library Catalog
- Go to Advanced Search in the online catalog
- enter the keyword sources or personal narratives or diaries
- enter terms related to your topic
- Find Subject Headings in the "details" of relevant books related to your topic that include words such as "sources, "personal narratives," "pictorial," or "diaries". Click on those headings for more books on that topic.
Images
- Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonial IberoamericanoDigital images of maps, drawings, engravings, and manuscripts from national libraries of Spain and Latin America in one searchable portal.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African DiasporaThe 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
