It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to searching all ProQuest databases simultaneously or selecting databases. Includes scholarly and popular periodicals and newspapers in the arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
Bibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America: archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Citations are to books, articles, essays, festschrifts, dissertations, obituaries, films, newspapers, manuscripts, early codices, etc.
Index of articles from general interest magazines, such as Time, Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic. Good source for popular US coverage of Latin American events, especially political and cultural issues.
Periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Helpful for topics such as Atlantic world studies, slavery in the Caribbean, British colonial involvement.
Books and articles on sociology and social sciences. Useful for Latin American issues relating to development, politics, social movements, agrarian reform, family, population, indigenous rights, race, migration, and education.
Public Affairs Information Service includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. Issues relate to Latin American foreign relations and policy and topics in public debate.
Coverage: PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. User Limit: Unlimited.
Indexes books, articles, reports relating to all fields of anthropology, archaeology, folklore, etc. Includes materials from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Search of the Web of Science Core Collection includes the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa). Settings will permit searching parts of the core collection (e.g., Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences). Covers 1900 to date.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
Literature of European and North and South American art. Includes fine art, popular and folk art, photography, performing arts (costumes, scenography) and related references from music, history and literature. Latest publications are from 2007.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.