Music Resources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowGood source for beginning your research on many different topics (film, music, dance). Brief articles with recommended books and articles.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Good international coverage for Latin America.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowA guide for researchers to the best available scholarship in the fields of music (e.g., review articles cover principal scholarship on Cuban classical music, salsa, rumba, jazz, hip-hop).
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowEssays and recordings and images on classical and ethnic traditions.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndex of music periodicals with some good international coverage.
- RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM Platform) This link opens in a new windowIndex of early music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, and advertisements. Useful as a primary source for 19th-century Latin American musical experiences.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio service of the complete recording catalogs of the Naxos label and numerous other labels. The main genres covered are classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowArchive of music journalism: articles, reviews, and interviews from mainstream music publications and zines. Audio interviews.
Art
- Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowReferences to articles, books, exhibition catalogs and exhibition reviews, and dissertations on modern and contemporary art. Includes performance art and installations, theatre arts, artist's books, etc.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowDigital images in the arts from museum and other sources. Access Note: Start your search by clicking "Enter Artstor Digital Library" in the upper right corner of the page. Authorized users may create a 120-day subscription enabling access to advanced features including downloading image sets to PowerPoint.
- BHA and RILA This link opens in a new windowLiterature of European and North and South American art. Includes fine art, popular and folk art, photography, performing arts (costumes, scenography) and related references from music, history and literature. Latest publications are from 2007.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowUseful resource for scholarship on Latin American art covering publications from 2007 to the present.
- ICAA Documents of Latin American and Latino ArtPrimary sources and critical documents relating to 20th and 21st century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinx communities.
- Art Research GuideMusic and art research guide at Vanderbilt.
Subject Librarian
Paula Covington
Contact:
Phone: 615-322-6282
Virtual Office Hours:
Tuesday, 1-3 p.m.
Click the icon below to access my Zoom meeting room.
Website
Virtual Office Hours:
Tuesday, 1-3 p.m.
Click the icon below to access my Zoom meeting room.
Related Subject Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndex of journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, etc.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowDigital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
