Need help? Ask me!
This research guide will help you with your research when writing your Artist Research Paper arguing why an artist (solo artist or group) of your choosing not represented on the syllabus should be included in a history of rock music class. I will take you through the research process: gathering information, interpreting materials, and citing your work. You will familiarize yourself with encyclopedias, dictionaries, online databases, and print resources that may help you when writing your research paper. Remember the research process is presented here in steps but should never be considered rigid as you may return to steps along the way. If you need research help at any time, contact me, Kate Linton, Music Librarian for Instruction and Outreach by clicking on the "email me" or "schedule appointment" button on the left-hand side of the page.
1. Choose your solo artist or group
Select your topic, solo artist or group. You will use their name or group name when searching the library catalog and databases and other keywords that might be useful to narrow or broaden your findings for your paper.
2. Gathering Information: Using Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Online Databases
Gathering background information at the beginning of the research can be important. While you can consult Wikipedia and use the footnotes at the bottom of the article to inform where you can search next, you also have access to authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, discographies, and representations of those including in our online databases and electronic resources. Use your solo artist or group and consider the following texts:
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Oxford Music Online (Database)
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Online), Oxford University Press
- Encyclopedia of Classic Rock (Online Access), David Luhrssen with Michael Larson
- Rock and Roll (Online Access), Craig Morrison - Rock Music Dictionary
Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries (Wilson Music Library): The Wilson Music Library has print encyclopedias in the reference resources section and the stacks. Our reference materials are in-house use only, and the stacks are available for checkout. Always double check the call number for the location. Use these call number ranges to browse the reference section and stacks for encyclopedias and an example.
- Popular Music Encyclopedias: ML102.P
- Rock Music Encyclopedias: ML102.R
- Example, Encyclopedia of Indie Rock, Kerry L. Smith - Wilson Music Library Reference ML102 .R6 S63 2008
