Need help? Ask me!
In addition to books, you will want to find articles using the library catalog search or by using one of our databases or journals. For additional information on how to use the databases visit the next tab. Use your solo artist or group name and other keywords to find articles on your topic.
Finding Articles
Articles may be found in popular music magazines, newspapers, or academic journals. You can search for these using a Library Catalog search or by using our databases. Search the following database(s), journal(s), and magazine(s):
Databases:
- Bloomsbury Popular Music This link opens in a new windowExplores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for music periodicals; includes including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowArchive of music journalism: articles, reviews, and interviews from mainstream music publications and zines. Audio interviews.
Magazines:
- BillboardLimited access to full-text in Music Periodicals database.
- Rolling stoneLimited access to full-text in Music Periodicals database.
- UncutLimited access to full-text in Music Periodicals database.
News & Historical Newspaper Databases:
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
