Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Tutorials : Clip Compilations

A how to guide for account creation, finding content, ordering news episodes or segments, creating a Media Account, and receiving content in the Media Account.

September 11th, 2001: 20th Anniversary

by Jim Duran on 2021-09-10T11:16:00-05:00 | Comments

Aaron Brown atop a building reporting on 9/11The attack on the United States by the terrorist group al Qaeda on September 11th 2001 was recorded by the Vanderbilt Television News Archive on four channels: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN. The collection includes non-stop video recording from 7:50 AM to midnight September 13th on the three broadcast networks and continues to midnight September 15th for CNN. This coverage is split into one-hour segments and is available to browse through the broadcast index. Each one-hour recording includes a rundown of the key features of the hour-long recording, including interviews, commentary and a description of the video scenery. These descriptions are searchable through the search bar on the home page or on the advanced search

The TV News Archive also includes many anniversaries and commemorative news segments. A selection of these news features is listed below: 

  1. Dan Rather, “Attack on America.” (Sept. 12th, 2001) CBS Evening News. URL: https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/642385.

    Dan Rather anchors a special edition of the Evening News with summaries of President Bush’s activities, the search for people behind the attacks, and the rescue effort at the World Trade Center.

  2. Ted Koppel. “America Fights Back” (Sept 16th, 2001). ABC News https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/1011744.

    Live discussion with Ted Koppel (ABC), former director of Central Intelligence James Woolsey, former National Security Advisor Lt. General Brent Scowcroft (Ret.), former Reagan Chief of Staff Ken Duberstein, former Secretary of State Lawrence Eagleburger, and former Supreme Allied Commander of NATO Forces in Europe General George Joulwan (Ret.), re: the possible sources of the attack on the World Trade Center and Pentagon.

  3. George W. Bush. “The President Addresses Congress and the Nation.” (Sept. 20th, 2001). https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/898276.

    Live CBS coverage of President George W. Bush address to Congress, reported by Dan Rather. In this speech, the president demands the nation of Afghanistan surrender the leaders of al Qaeda and the Taliban regime. President Bush emphasizes this is not a fight against the religion of Islam.President Bush addresses the nation

  4. Charles Sabine. “USS Enterprise and Operation Enduring Freedom” (Oct 10th, 2001) NBC Nightly News. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/644391.

    The work of the military personnel on the USS Enterprise, a key launching pad for the air strikes on Afghanistan, featured; scenes shown of bombers flying from the ship. [SAILORS - say the sailors' morale is "fantastic"; talk about their families.]

  5. Roger O’Neil and Bob Faw. “September 11th / Commemorations.” (Sept. 11, 2002). NBC Nightly News. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/710014.

    Commemorative ceremonies in New York City and Shanksville, Pennsylvania reviewed; scenes shown from Ground Zero in New York City and Shanksville. The different ways of commemorating September 11 around the nation and the world featured; details given about the defiant attitude of Salina, Utah, residents.

  6. Anderson Cooper. “Afghanistan and the War on Terror.” (Sept. 11, 2006). CNN News Room. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/838346.

    From a forward operating base in Afghanistan, Cooper reports on how soldiers commemorate the 5-year anniversary of 9/11 while fighting the Taliban, al Qaeda, and insurgents in Afghanistan. Other reports cover the tension on the Pakistan border, and the current state of the war.Bagpipes at a forward operating base, Afghanistan

  7. Barack Obama. “Osama Bin Laden’s capture and death.” (May 02, 2011) Fox News Channel. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/992976.

    President Barack Obama's statement at a congressional dinner at the White House re: the killing of Osama bin Laden. Obama comments on the challenges of unity within the United States, speaking of political divides. News anchor Bret Baier notes the highlights.

  8. Barack Obama. “10th anniversary of 9/11.” (Sept. 11th, 2011). Live CNN. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/1001814.

    From the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. President Obama reflects on the tenth anniversary of the terrorist attacks, with a message of resilience and the American spirit. Obama notes the sacrifices made in the wars against terrorism.

  9. Kate Snow. “15 Years Later.” (Sept. 11, 2016). NBC Nightly News. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/1102826.

    A study finding that half of the children who lost parents on 9/11 suffered anxiety disorders noted. The 15-year journey of healing for the Steven Paterson family featured; family photos & home scenes shown.

  10. Charlie D’Agata. “Afghanistan Forces Hunt ISIS Suspects.” (Sept. 11th 2019) CBS Evening News. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/1244372.

    Following Afghanistan Military special forces on the search for leaders of ISIS. D’Agata notes the support the military receives from the US and what might happen if that support ends.

  11. Mary Bruce. “Honoring the heroes of 9/11.” (Sept.11th 2020). ABC World News Tonight. https://tvnews-vbe.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu/broadcasts/1257477.

    9/11 memorials during the coronavirus crisis reviewed; scenes shown of Trump in the plane & on the ground & Biden meetings with family members of those who died in Shanksville, Pennsylvania. [TRUMP, BIDEN - speak about lives lost.] The ceremonies in New York City & Trump's return to the campaign trail this weekend with Biden's plans discussed.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Subjects



History
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.