LibGuides Best Practices: Sample Boxes

Tips, suggestions, templates, and best practices for creating a LibGuide.

About Sample Boxes

The boxes below are the current "best" LibGuides boxes for the particular resources. Feel free to reuse them on your own LibGuides. We will keep them up to date. If you do not check the "Make a copy of this box rather than mapping to the original" box, changes made to these original boxes will be reflected in the copy you are creating.

Finding Full Text of Articles with FindIt@VU

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the full text of the article (if available) and other supporting resources. Just look for this icon when searching databases:

If the full text link is not shown, be sure to check the link labeled "See if this item is available in the Vanderbilt Libraries" to see if the journal title or other resource is available in print form. Items not available through VU Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

FindIt@VU FAQ 

Interlibrary Loan 

Follow the VU Libraries

   @VandyLibraries

Google Scholar

http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/eres?id=83​

Google Scholar is another tool you can use to search for scholarly literature online. Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."

Often Google Scholar has the full text of the articles when you are on the Vanderbilt network using the Findit@VU links. If you are off campus, the FindIt@VU links won't appear unless you use the Google Scholar link above.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests

Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Login with your VUNet ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. Articles are often emailed within a day or two after a request is submitted. Books arrive within one week and are sent to the library of your choice for you to pick up. It's free! Just click on the link below and login to the library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

ILL Q & A

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan or ILL (sometimes also called interloan, document delivery, or document supply etc.) is a service provided for a library user to borrow books or get copies of articles owned by another library. You ask your own library, such as Vanderbilt, which then completes the order for you if possible. This service is offered at no cost to you as a part of Vanderbilt and is generally quite responsive in turn around time.

Who can make an ILL request?

Vanderbilt faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students.

What can I request?

We can usually borrow from other libraries what can be checked out here: books,  reprints, scores,conference proceedings, etc.. Microforms, newspaper back files, dissertations, and government documents. We can request copies of journal articles and many other items that cannot be borrowed.

How long does it take?

This service turn around always depends on the library who is supplying the item requested. It is not uncommon for journal articles to arrive in your mailbox in less than 48 hours. Yet don't count on that as the service processes requests as they arrive and there is no anticipating demand. You should try to determine your needs early, and time your requests to allow for delays and to avoid receiving more than you can use in the time allowed for loans.  A good rule of thumb:  Budget at least two week for receiving an ILL request.

What does it cost?

There is no back charge to as the requestor and this service cost is absorbed by the Vanderbilt Library.

Need Help?

Need Research Help?

Search our FAQ for answers to the most common library questions. Or ask a new question and receive an answer via email.