Key Reference Materials
Action Research for Business, Nonprofit, and Public Administration by
This book covers the background, process, and tools needed to introduce and guide students through to a successful action research (AR) project. Included are how to initiate, plan, and complete AR within all types of organizations in business, nonprofit, and public administration. Graphic organizers and a modular sequence of topics help students manage the steps involved in AR practice. A protocol for weekly report writing, informed consent documentation, and clear guidelines for final analyses and report writing give graduate students the efficient format they need. This book teaches theory by interweaving discussion of the major content areas and stories of student success with the concepts that impact practice.Follow the authors on Facebook!
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412991643Publication Date: 2011-10-11
Cases in Innovative Nonprofits by
Become an innovator in the nonprofit world Student friendly and readable, Cases in Innovative Nonprofits provides readers with current comparative case studies of innovative nonprofit organizations that are meeting the needs of humanity in both the U.S. and abroad. Edited by well-known scholars, Ram A. Cnaan and Diane Vinokur-Kaplan, this text provides inspiring examples of social entrepreneurs who have instituted new services to meet the needs of both new and long standing social problems. Each case features either an unidentified need and its successful response, or an existing need that was tackled in a unique and innovative manner. The text is purposefully organized into four parts: Part 1: Two conceptual chapters give the reader an understanding of what a nonprofit social innovation is and tools to analyze various social innovations in this volume and elsewhere. Part 2: Ten cases reveal the innovative formation of new nonprofit organizations. Part 3: Three cases emphasize innovation through collaboration. Part 4: Five cases demonstrate innovations taking place within an existing nonprofit organization. By using a simple, identical format for each case, this text facilitates student learning through comparative review, providing a deeper understanding about the complexity and steps required to achieve nonprofit social innovation.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781452277707Publication Date: 2014-12-12
Management Development in Non-Profit Organisations by
Voluntary organizations engaged in development efforts are usually immersed in very demanding work in unhelpful conditions. This leaves them little time to come to grips with the specialized demands fof management development. Adding to the difficulty is the prevailing tendency in many non-profits and NGOs to distance themselves from the world of 'management'. However, the need for effective management in their work is often greater than in commercial ventures of a similar size. In this context, the governing board can play an important role in the effective management of voluntary organizations, but it is a role that is largely neglected. This book--the first of its kind in India--draws upon the authors' broad experience in consulting to identify the needs of governing boards, and offers a programme designed to meet those needs. This book is a practical, comprehensive and ready reference manual for board members of non-profit organizations (NPOs), covering all the issues involved--from the legal frameworks governing NPOs to useful guidelines on fundraising. Using the 'frequently asked questions' format, it covers various aspects of NPO management, with an emphasis on the strategy--policy function of boards.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780761933779Publication Date: 2005-11-23
The Nonprofit Sector by
The second edition of The Nonprofit Sector provides a novel, comprehensive, cross-disciplinary perspective on nonprofit organizations and their role and function in society. This new, updated edition keeps pace with industry trends and advances as well as with the changing interests and needs of students, practitioners, and researchers. As before, every chapter has been written to stand on its own, providing sufficient background for the reader to follow the argument without referring to other chapters?allowing readers to selectively choose those chapters that are most relevant to a particular course, interest, or issue. The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook includes twenty-seven new or updated chapters. Relevant chapters from the previous edition have been refined, and new chapters have been added to fill in gaps, making this the authoritative reference for all who want an accessible, perceptive, and all-inclusive rendering of the nonprofit sector. The contributors?prominent scholars in their respective fields?carefully reflect upon the variety of changes in the rapidly growing world of nonprofits, examining a wide array of organizations, international issues, social science theories, and philanthropic traditions and covering a broad range of topics including the history and scope of nonprofit activities in the United States and abroad, the relation of nonprofits to the marketplace, government-nonprofit issues, key activities of nonprofits, aspects of giving to and joining nonprofits, and nonprofit mission and governance. For anyone who wishes to have a deeper understanding of the nonprofit sector, this remains the essential guide. From reviews of the first edition: "[This book] is the closest thing to a 'bible' of nonprofit sector research and state-of-the-art social science knowledge as currently exists."?Dennis R. Young, Public Administration Review "Invaluable to anyone currently engaged in research or policy decisions involving nonprofit organizations or, for that matter, considering becoming involved.??Jerald Schiff, Journal of Policy Analysis and Management "An exceptionally useful resource.??Mark D. Hughes, The Philanthropist ]]>
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780300109030Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations by
How can today's nonprofits demonstrate effective use of funds? How can they motivate employees and volunteers and combat burnout and high turnover? How can they ensure that they are performing in accordance with their mission and purpose? Author Stephen J. Gill answers these questions and more in Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations. Filled with practical tips and tools, the book shows students and managers of human services, arts, education, civic, and environmental agencies how to implement a learning culture with individuals, teams, the organization as a whole, and the larger community. Key Features Draws on the author's more than 25 years of consulting experience Demonstrates how to create a culture of intentional learning that uses reflection and feedback, focuses on successes and failures, and builds a strong organization that motivates employees and volunteers Offers specific, hands-on tools for each level of the organization, from the individual and team to the whole organization and the community Discusses not only the need for a learning culture but also the barriers that may stand in the way Takes a step-by-step approach that facilitates managers' and students' understanding and learning Incorporates practical tools that can be used in nonprofit management and in actual field instruction Developing a Learning Culture in Nonprofit Organizations is appropriate for courses in Social Work Evaluation, Public and Nonprofit Management, and Evaluation.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412967679Publication Date: 2009-05-07
Key Databases
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- Google Scholar Vanderbilt Login This link opens in a new window
Use this link to seamlessly access VU resources via Google Scholar both on and off campus.
You can also adjust your Google Scholar settings to display the Vanderbilt Findit@VU link to appear in search results and allow for access from on or off-campus. Access Google Scholar settings by visiting this page (https://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings).
Click library links on the left hand menu. in the search box, search for Vanderbilt and select: “Vanderbilt University Library – Findit@VU” (with uppercase F), Click Save. - ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
- ProQuest Business (including ABI/Inform) This link opens in a new windowCombined search of ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, Asian Business and Reference, European Business, and Snapshots.
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
Additional Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new windowInformation on grantmakers and grants. Database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive selection of statistics for the United States, with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies.
Research Organizations
- The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) "The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) is a diverse community of scholars, educators, and practice leaders that strengthens the field of nonprofit and philanthropic research in order to improve civil society and human life."
- Foundation Center's IssueLab First started in 2006 as a searchable, browseable website set up to collect and share the social sector’s knowledge, IssueLab became a service of Foundation Center in 2012. Since then, IssueLab’s mission has grown beyond the “simple” collection and distribution of knowledge products, to include the support of social sector organizations in adopting the practical and necessary steps to openly publishing what they fund and produce.
- International Society for Third-Sector Research (ISTR) Their mission is "to develop a global community of scholars, researchers and practitioners who celebrate diversity, non-profit and philanthropic commitment to societyand rigorous interdisciplinary approaches in third sector research."
