Additional Research Guides
- Walker Management Library Research GuidesFor more in-depth information on business research resources, check out these subject guides created by our Business Librarians!
Key Reference Materials
Understanding Business Research by
Explore the essential steps for data collection, reporting, and analysis in business research Understanding Business Research offers a comprehensive introduction to the entire process of designing, conducting, interpreting, and reporting findings in the business environment. With an emphasis on the human factor, the book presents a complete set of tools for tackling complex behavioral and social processes that are a part of data collection in industry settings. Utilizing numerous real-world examples throughout, the authors begin by presenting an overview of the research process, outlining key ideas relating to the business environment, ethics, and empirical methods. Quantitative techniques and considerations that are specific to business research, including sampling and the use of assessments, surveys, and objective measures are also introduced. Subsequent chapters outline both common and specialized research designs for business data, including: Correlational Research Single Variable Between-Subjects Research Correlated Groups Designs Qualitative and Mixed-Method Research Between-Subjects Designs Between-Subjects Factorial Designs Research with Categorical Data Each chapter is organized using an accessible, comprehensive pedagogy that ensures a fluid presentation. Case studies showcase the real-world applications of the discussed topics while critical thinking exercises and Knowledge Checks supply questions that allow readers to test their comprehension of the presented material. Numerous graphics illustrate the visual nature of the research, and chapter-end glossaries outline definitions of key terms. In addition, detailed appendices provide a review of basic concepts and the most commonly used statistical tables. Requiring only a basic understanding of statistics, Understanding Business Research is an excellent book for courses on business statistics as well as business and management science research methods at the graduate level. The book is also a valuable resource for practitioners in business, finance, and management science who utilize qualitative and quantitative research methods in their everyday work.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781118134269Publication Date: 2012-08-28
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Business and Management Research Methods by
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Business and Management Research Methods provides a state-of-the art overview of qualitative research methods in the business and management field. Bringing together a team of leading international researchers, the chapters offer a comprehensive overview of the history and traditions that underpin qualitative research in the field. The chapters in this volume have been arranged into four thematic parts: Part One explores the influential traditions underpinning qualitative research, such as positivism, interpretivism, pragmatism, constructionism and beyond. Part Two looks at research designs, covering ethnography, field research, action research, case studies, process and practice methodologies. Part Three focusses on the researcher: examining issues such as positionality, reflexivity, ethics, gender and intersectionality. Part Four examines challenges relating to research design, access and departure, choosing participants and more.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781526429261Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Approaches to Quantitative Research by
APPROACHES TO QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH is designed for both undergraduate and postgraduate business students who are planning to undertake a research project or dissertation. Due to a lack of formal research training and experience, students can find completing research projects a daunting task. This, coupled with a fear of statistics, can culminate in quite an overwhelming experience for many students. Therefore, APPROACHES TO QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH takes a practical approach to quantitative research techniques by providing step-by-step guides to their application and interpretation. By using easy-to-understand language, while at the same time not losing the statistical underpinnings, as well as downloadable datasets, this book demonstrates how to use the appropriate quantitative methods to answer different types of research questions, and how to analyse data by using SPSS.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781781190593Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Key Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, books, and case studies from different areas of business, economics, education, engineering, health care, library science, organizational studies, sociology, and more.
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Company chronologies, company histories, journals, market research reports, market share reports, rankings, recent news, SWOT reports, videos, industry information. Comparison chart tool.
Types of Business Information
Doing business research is different than other types of academic research because of the unique nature of information and data in the field, along with the needs of the business researcher. Business information generally needs to up to the minute (current) and from a reliable source.
Thinking about the types of business information available will help you determine the best resources for your research needs. Types and producers of business information include:
- Analyst reports
- SEC Filings
- Financial data
- SWOT analysis
- PEST/PESTLE reports
- Annual reports
- Journal articles
- Market research reports
- News articles
- Trade publications
- White/grey literature from "thought leaders" and associations
- Government reports, data and documentation
- Industry reports
- Industry experts
- Trade or professional association
Additional Resources
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Dynamically compare and manipulate statistical data to create tables, maps, and figures.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowQuantitative data, statistics, infographics, and related information compiled from market research institutes, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
